VectorLinux
July 28, 2014, 10:04:41 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: kdebase + kdelibs doesn't give a working kde install on 5.9 RC2  (Read 1440 times)
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1545


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« on: November 28, 2007, 09:35:33 am »

I love kde, but can't stand some of it's bloat. Therefore, I usually just install kdebase and kdelibs, kdegraphics and kdemultimedia. I did this about a week ago on 5.9 RC1.3, and it worked fine. But today I've been unpleasantly surprised: I wanted to do the same on 5.9 RC2, but I get all sorts of trouble. For instance, the control center doesn't work (can't turn off those bloody sounds!).

The Slackware current kdebase+libs give me a fully functional kde desktop though.
 
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2007, 11:31:49 am »

Yeah, it's kinda rough this early in the game. Just kdebase and kdelibs gave me very little functionality. After installing the rest of KDE packages (except kdegames, koffice and kdegraphics), things came more together. Still, all of the entries for kcontrol and kinfocenter ended up in lost&found.
Logged
JohnB316
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1346


Registered Linux User #386728


« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2007, 01:02:26 pm »

Yeah, it's kinda rough this early in the game. Just kdebase and kdelibs gave me very little functionality. After installing the rest of KDE packages (except kdegames, koffice and kdegraphics), things came more together. Still, all of the entries for kcontrol and kinfocenter ended up in lost&found.

This is because the initial packages of kde-3.5.8 for the VL 5.9 repo were built with --sysconfdir=/etc/kde (taken straight from Slackware's build scripts), whereas a repackage of kdelibs-3.5.8 was built with --sysconfdir=/etc passed to configure. That's why a lot of the icons are ending up in Lost and Found.

In being asked about this issue by another VL 5.9 testing user, it turns out that the Linux Filesystem Hierarchy Standard does include /etc/kde in it, and I think for a very good reason. Since KDE is such a large desktop environment, it only makes sense that it puts its static configuration files in its own place in /etc, namely /etc/kde.

This leads to comment for discussion among packagers who want to build KDE-dependent apps. Among the other arguments that are passed to the ./configure script, like --prefix=`kde-config --prefix`, we should pass --sysconfdir=/etc/kde.

Just my $0.02,
John
Logged

VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2007, 01:13:10 pm »

Hey John, I think thats worthy of a sticky in the packagers board.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!