Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: sound don't work at all  (Read 4888 times)

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
now sound works! and webcam + internet phone?
« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2007, 09:26:04 am »
bonjour

certainly, but 5.1 STD did contain mainly firefox and it is enough. seamonkey is a big consument of room on the harddisk for one never using it as I. I would better desintall it it I find a way to do that (for me, the email client of seamonkey is not usuable at all: the keyboard configuration is not ok, and I find no easy way to change the keyboard, so I can't write "at" at all and so no one email address! the same keyboard works properly installed in 5.1 STD exactly in the same way. it is the CH_fr od CH_de keyboard because it is possible to write the most European languages with the swiss keyboard very properly)

ok, now sound works

I am not finish. I would like to use my webcam to phone or chat camera assisted in Vector because my friends can't see that I work in a restrictive linux system.

is Vector able to use the webcam directly?

is the installation of a programm like ekiga / kopete with webcam easy?

salut

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2007, 09:51:18 am »
Don't know about webcams, but you can uninstall Seamonkey using Gslapt.

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2299
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2007, 10:04:24 am »
I can use my Logitech Quickcam without troubles in 5.9, using the gspca driver. I tested it with aMsn, Kopete and the beta of Skype 2.something (previous versions has no video support). The driver was easy to compile, but in 5.9, I don't know if it will work in 5.1.

BTW, I think I remember some post mentioning seamonkey is required for the configuration scripts that needs  browsing, i.e. cups service.
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2008, 03:35:12 pm »
I also set up my Logitech with the gspca driver, and works (mostly) fine with Skype Beta and amsn.
You just need to download the gspca driver and run gspca_build.

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #19 on: January 02, 2008, 03:01:34 am »
BTW, I think I remember some post mentioning seamonkey is required for the configuration scripts that needs  browsing, i.e. cups service.
Actually, those scripts probably use the BROWSER environment variable. It can be changed in ~/.bashrc .
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.