VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Installing Star Office  (Read 6017 times)

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2323
Re: Installing Star Office
« Reply #15 on: December 12, 2007, 04:05:08 pm »

Thanks again newtor StarOffice 8 seems to be working like a charm if I run into any problems I will post.  I have one more question hopefully can be answered.  When loading StarOffice 8 all of my folders being README, LICENSE and RPMS are on my desktop.  The problem is I cannot move these folders under one folder to clean up the clutter from my desktop.  Do you know how this is done?  Thank you so very much, TC.   ;D

Perhaps you copied them as root and now you don't have the permissions, try login as root in a console and remove the dirs.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

TC

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Installing Star Office
« Reply #16 on: December 12, 2007, 04:06:27 pm »

I get an access denied when I try to move these folder to the trash bin, TC.
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Installing Star Office
« Reply #17 on: December 12, 2007, 07:03:22 pm »

Perhaps you copied them as root and now you don't have the permissions, try login as root in a console and remove the dirs.
I think rbitolfi is correct.  If the files were unpacked as root, which (I think) they were then you need to be root to delete them.  You can do this from a terminal like this:
open a terminal
su
cd Desktop/
rm README
rm LICENSE
rm -drf RPMS
exit


HTH!

BE CAREFUL when deleting things as root
Logged

TC

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Installing Star Office
« Reply #18 on: December 13, 2007, 04:18:16 am »

Ignore this post I figured out the problem.  Sorry for the wasted space.  Thanks again for everyones help on this problem it is very much appreciated.  One more quick question, how do you all know this stuff and how to fix these problems, TC.
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2323
Re: Installing Star Office
« Reply #19 on: December 13, 2007, 05:36:25 am »

Ignore this post I figured out the problem.  Sorry for the wasted space.  Thanks again for everyones help on this problem it is very much appreciated.  One more quick question, how do you all know this stuff and how to fix these problems, TC.

Glad you got it TC. About the question, just read the posts of hanumizzle, lagagnon, easuter, uelsk8s, grannygeek, kidd, vec, joe1962, john, the headeacher, and the list goes... god there is lot of wisdom in this forum! Oh, and break your own computer some times dealing with the console and the config files, make a backup first ;).
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1487
Re: Installing Star Office
« Reply #20 on: September 03, 2008, 03:12:41 am »

This is a wonderful thread.  However, TC, if you can do it, I would modify it by deleting or conditioning Newtor's December 10, 2007 9:10 pm post.  Newtor later posted the correct solution to installing staroffice 8 in the same thread and therefore his Dec 10 post should be deleted.  Or, I should learn to read to the end of a thread before following thread instructions.  Takes a while to delete 30 Staroffice files.

I most appreciate Newtor's efforts.  Most.  For what its worth,  they work great for the current star office 8 release. But the star office writer still doesn't show in the Office Menu.

John
« Last Edit: September 03, 2008, 03:14:43 am by sledgehammer »
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pages: 1 [2]