VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: sound don't work at all  (Read 5152 times)

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
sound don't work at all
« on: December 11, 2007, 01:31:24 pm »

bonjour
it is possible to repeat partially the installation only of this point?
salut


using Vector Linux 5.1 STD on DELL Optiflex SX270 with Celeron and Intel Chip Set
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2007, 01:56:39 pm »

Have you checked the mixer settings? Sound may simply be muted and/or volume turned down.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2007, 03:51:41 pm »

bonjour

I did try it but the mixer starts but don't stay open on the screen.

are the settings also to find in a file and to edit manually?

salut
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2007, 04:01:38 pm »

bonjour

I did try it but the mixer starts but don't stay open on the screen.

are the settings also to find in a file and to edit manually?

salut


Which mixer did you use? Try 'alsamixer' (at the command line). To unmute a channel, you simply press 'M' when it's selected. You can see whether a channel is muted by the two characters that appear at the bottom of the channel level: when a channel is muted, so will you see 'MM' in pale blue.

Any GUI mixer program would work though. Which one did you use? Did it simply disappear because you moved your mouse away from the window, and the window lost focus?
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2007, 03:38:05 pm »

bonjour

I did reinstall a 3rd time to try the 2 offered options of sound card.

at boot time comes an error message:

after the comment
"initializing hardware"
comes
"setting up modules failed"

by starting the alsamixer in aterm comes the error message
"function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory"

i did look for an other newer version of Vector Linux 5.1 STD but it seems that this version is abandoned?

salut
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2007, 06:38:55 pm »

Hmmm...

What kind of sound card do you have?
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2007, 01:13:03 pm »

bonjour

under m$-windows XP, the sound card announced by the system is legacy

but vl says at installation time "no legacy cards found" (and the other option, "intel08x0 82801EB/ER ICH5/ICH5R" don't work better)

all the other things of vl seem to work properly.

salut
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2007, 01:34:17 pm »

Crap, is that an old ISA PnP card you have?
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2007, 03:45:25 pm »

bonjour

I don't know, and did never have problems with sound in linux but other problems (i have slackware 12, xubuntu, the newest version, knoppix, and puppy linux, and i did erase zen linux by installing vector)!

for this reason my knowledge concerning sound is really little: sound works always! I don't know where are the files with the parameters for sound or sound card or sound protocol!

my PC is not new but not absolutely old (celeron 2 gHz, ram 1 Mb, HD 80 Mb) but it is more the conception of a laptop (it is not a laptop but as the same size) as of a tower!

salut
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2007, 04:00:29 pm »

for this reason my knowledge concerning sound is really little: sound works always! I don't know where are the files with the parameters for sound or sound card or sound protocol!

Hmm...

What does /sbin/lspci say?
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2007, 08:07:05 am »

bonjour

What does /sbin/lspci say?

lspci did find the equipment of the pc made of Intel stuff (82865/PE/P DRAM/Host-Hub Interf., 82801EB/ER USB, LPC Bridge, Ultra ATA 100 Storage, SMBus Contr., AC'97 Audio Contr., 82801BA/CA/DB/EB/ER PCI Bridge,  82540EM Ethernet

salut
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2007, 09:40:31 pm »

I have the same model of sound card. What happens when you type 'modprobe snd-via82xx' as root?
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2007, 07:19:37 am »

bonjour

thank you for the formidable patience!

"init_module: No such device" "insmod failed"

salut
Logged

oui

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #13 on: December 16, 2007, 02:44:06 pm »

bonjour

bonjour
it is possible to repeat partially the installation only of this point?
salut


using Vector Linux 5.1 STD on DELL Optiflex SX270 with Celeron and Intel Chip Set

today I had time to download and install the Vector Linux 5.9RC3 STD and Vector Linux 5.8 STD

5.9 don't install at all  :'( , but 5.8 works very good including sound without any difficulty) so I will use it now. thank you for your help

surprise: it seems that the use of the seamonkey suite is obligatory! I don't understand why... but the other parts are beautiful!

salut

Logged

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: sound don't work at all
« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2007, 02:31:04 am »

Quote
surprise: it seems that the use of the seamonkey suite is obligatory! I don't understand why... but the other parts are beautiful!

Firefox is also included with VL 5.8. You can use the GSlapt package manager to install Thunderbird as well, if thats your prefered email client ;)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2