VectorLinux
July 23, 2014, 11:29:36 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hello from Dubai!  (Read 2643 times)
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« on: December 22, 2007, 08:20:44 pm »

Hey all!  I just spent about 16 hours in a plane traveling from Brisbane to Dubai (and even in First Class that's a painful ride in the end) for a holiday with my father, and imagine my surprise when i finally get internet access and discover 5.9 has had a Final released.

Dubai is odd in that for all the similarities to home (particularly the heat Wink ) it's an alien place in so many other ways.  The skype page is blocked, for example.  Yet around 75% of the folks I see when i wander around are ex-pats, not locals.

Anyways, wishing all a Merry Christmas, a Happy New Year, and a Productive 5.9 Experience.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2007, 09:16:28 pm »

Dubai is odd in that for all the similarities to home (particularly the heat Wink ) it's an alien place in so many other ways.  The skype page is blocked, for example.  Yet around 75% of the folks I see when i wander around are ex-pats, not locals.

Have fun ... although I myself would never want to be in a country that has such little respect for a basic human right. It's like a massive high school. Angry I've read that local youths might know how to get around that stuff, but be careful.

(I guess my skype network installer wouldn't work then (?)  Cry)
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2007, 11:06:50 pm »

Actually, it would - my parents communicate through skype all the time, and I just got off skype to my girlfriend in puppy (which seems to require me to create a new user everytime I log in :/ ) so although skype works, the page itself is blocked.

Don't worry though Hanumizzle - maddox is blocked too, as is Encyclopedia Dramatica.  Facebook and most other communication sites are open.  I'm pretty sure Skype is blocked because it bypasses all the telcos here, meaning they don't get their slice of pie.  And given the heavily-capitalistic drive here, I can in part understand that.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2007, 07:42:25 am »

Don't worry though Hanumizzle - maddox is blocked too, as is Encyclopedia Dramatica

OMG! What about Uncyclopedia? Try https://dongtaiwang.com/dmirror/http/maddox.xmission.com

"If I want to manufacture biological weapons with my copy of iTunes, I will, fascists."
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2007, 09:17:51 am »

Haha!  Yes!  Take that UAE Filters!

They also block proxies the bastards  Angry May they choke on camel's milk!
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2007, 10:04:15 am »

Haha!  Yes!  Take that UAE Filters!

Looks like crap, sorry

https://dongtaiwang.com/dmirror/http/uncyclopedia.org/wiki/Censorship
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2007, 11:51:16 am »

Tis fine - I can use all my usual sites now without restriction, so I'm happy.  Though I'll not push my luck by surfing porn.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2007, 02:58:31 pm »

Tis fine - I can use all my usual sites now without restriction, so I'm happy.  Though I'll not push my luck by surfing porn.

Good. You wouldn't want to tell the inmates or guards in a backwards, uncivilized UAE prison that you got stuck there because you were looking at the 'Lemon Party' shock picture.
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2007, 06:53:48 pm »

Bluemage, my best friend a Scot lives in Dubai. I can call him with skype, that costs me about 15 times more than calling Europe, however, still half of what the local telephone company would charge me.

If my friend would install skype do you think I could call him then skype to skype. I offered to download the exe file and send it over to him for him to install since he claims he can't access skype at all.

What do you think, would my plan work? I can even login for him the first time and then give him name and password.

And if you want to see more natives go in the evening to a arabian restaurant. They have fantastic food. I stuff myself there indecently it's just so good, just no wine so.

Season greetings
Logged
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2007, 08:24:13 pm »

Your plan would definitely work, provided you email the entire installer.  If he's using puppy or similar (as I am currently - no Vector with me Sad ) there's a package he can grab straight away which the filters don't block.  The only problem is (for me at least) the logging in is sketchy - it'll work eventually, but I need to stick at it and praying a bit probably wouldn't hurt Wink

Alternatively, point him towards this dongtaiwang proxy - it worked for me, I was able to access skype's page using that.

https://dongtaiwang.com/dmirror/http/www.skype.com <- that should do the trick.  I think.  It's now taking a fair while to load for me.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!