VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Hello from Dubai!  (Read 3150 times)

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Hello from Dubai!
« on: December 22, 2007, 08:20:44 pm »

Hey all!  I just spent about 16 hours in a plane traveling from Brisbane to Dubai (and even in First Class that's a painful ride in the end) for a holiday with my father, and imagine my surprise when i finally get internet access and discover 5.9 has had a Final released.

Dubai is odd in that for all the similarities to home (particularly the heat ;) ) it's an alien place in so many other ways.  The skype page is blocked, for example.  Yet around 75% of the folks I see when i wander around are ex-pats, not locals.

Anyways, wishing all a Merry Christmas, a Happy New Year, and a Productive 5.9 Experience.
Logged
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2007, 09:16:28 pm »

Dubai is odd in that for all the similarities to home (particularly the heat ;) ) it's an alien place in so many other ways.  The skype page is blocked, for example.  Yet around 75% of the folks I see when i wander around are ex-pats, not locals.

Have fun ... although I myself would never want to be in a country that has such little respect for a basic human right. It's like a massive high school. >:( I've read that local youths might know how to get around that stuff, but be careful.

(I guess my skype network installer wouldn't work then (?)  :'()
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2007, 11:06:50 pm »

Actually, it would - my parents communicate through skype all the time, and I just got off skype to my girlfriend in puppy (which seems to require me to create a new user everytime I log in :/ ) so although skype works, the page itself is blocked.

Don't worry though Hanumizzle - maddox is blocked too, as is Encyclopedia Dramatica.  Facebook and most other communication sites are open.  I'm pretty sure Skype is blocked because it bypasses all the telcos here, meaning they don't get their slice of pie.  And given the heavily-capitalistic drive here, I can in part understand that.
Logged
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2007, 07:42:25 am »

Don't worry though Hanumizzle - maddox is blocked too, as is Encyclopedia Dramatica

OMG! What about Uncyclopedia? Try https://dongtaiwang.com/dmirror/http/maddox.xmission.com

"If I want to manufacture biological weapons with my copy of iTunes, I will, fascists."
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2007, 09:17:51 am »

Haha!  Yes!  Take that UAE Filters!

They also block proxies the bastards  >:( May they choke on camel's milk!
Logged
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2007, 10:04:15 am »

Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2007, 11:51:16 am »

Tis fine - I can use all my usual sites now without restriction, so I'm happy.  Though I'll not push my luck by surfing porn.
Logged
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2007, 02:58:31 pm »

Tis fine - I can use all my usual sites now without restriction, so I'm happy.  Though I'll not push my luck by surfing porn.

Good. You wouldn't want to tell the inmates or guards in a backwards, uncivilized UAE prison that you got stuck there because you were looking at the 'Lemon Party' shock picture.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1326
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2007, 06:53:48 pm »

Bluemage, my best friend a Scot lives in Dubai. I can call him with skype, that costs me about 15 times more than calling Europe, however, still half of what the local telephone company would charge me.

If my friend would install skype do you think I could call him then skype to skype. I offered to download the exe file and send it over to him for him to install since he claims he can't access skype at all.

What do you think, would my plan work? I can even login for him the first time and then give him name and password.

And if you want to see more natives go in the evening to a arabian restaurant. They have fantastic food. I stuff myself there indecently it's just so good, just no wine so.

Season greetings
Logged

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: Hello from Dubai!
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2007, 08:24:13 pm »

Your plan would definitely work, provided you email the entire installer.  If he's using puppy or similar (as I am currently - no Vector with me :( ) there's a package he can grab straight away which the filters don't block.  The only problem is (for me at least) the logging in is sketchy - it'll work eventually, but I need to stick at it and praying a bit probably wouldn't hurt ;)

Alternatively, point him towards this dongtaiwang proxy - it worked for me, I was able to access skype's page using that.

https://dongtaiwang.com/dmirror/http/www.skype.com <- that should do the trick.  I think.  It's now taking a fair while to load for me.
Logged
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)