VectorLinux
October 19, 2014, 11:41:08 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5.9 GRUB help?  (Read 1971 times)
rebbi

« on: December 25, 2007, 06:32:36 pm »

Hi,

I am new to Vector (but not to Linux) and when I tried to install 5.9 Gold onto my system, I ran into trouble with the LILO stage. 

I have Vista plus 3 Linux distros on my laptop, each distro with a separate root and /home partition. When I got to the LILO stage of installation, I opted to install LILO to the root partition but not to MBR, figuring I could add a GRUB entry for Vector later on. After rebooting, I was left with a GRUB menu that wouldn't load... it gave me an error number (13? 17? I can't remember...) and I reinstalled Mepis just to get a working GRUB back.

So.... can somebody post a walk-through on how to install Vecor 5.9 on a system with multiple distros and GRUB installed?

Thanks in advance! Cheesy

SF
kidd
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2007, 06:43:29 pm »

If you have a working grub, you can just edit menu.lst wherever it is, to add VL.

I've always installed lilo in the MBR, so I cannot help you in installing it in the root partition.

Welcome to Vector linux!

toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2007, 11:17:13 pm »

If you already have a working copy of Grub, skip the Lilo installation in Vector. Then go to your (Mepis?) /boot/grub and edit menu.lst

I currently have two copies of Zenwalk plus one copy of Vector 5.9 on my laptop. The menu entry I use for booting Vector is as below:

Code:
title Vector Linux 5.9