VectorLinux
October 31, 2014, 04:49:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: gslapt no update  (Read 4942 times)
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2008, 06:49:12 pm »

by adding -R to the dhcpcd command you are telling it not to update the /etc/resolv.conf file
you can find out lots more about the dhcpcd command by running "man dhcpcd" in a terminal
You can also do the same for most linux commands
Logged
fuelinux
Member
*
Posts: 52



« Reply #16 on: April 10, 2008, 04:50:43 am »

here is my /etc/resolv.conf file
Code:
search xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
nameserver 212.72.130.20
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220

but after slapt-get --update all I get is
Code:
root:# slapt-get --update
Retrieving package data [ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/packages/]...Failed to download: couldn't resolve host name
Sources failed to download, correct sources and rerun --update

should I remove 'nameserver 208.67.220.220'?

p.s. I'm on corporate LAN with proxy
Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 Standard
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2008, 01:20:22 pm »

here is my resolv.config:
Code:
# Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth0
nameserver  208.67.222.222
search gateway.2wire.net
nameserver 192.168.1.254
you may try this one, but save your current one in case of troubles.

ps.
Quote
by adding -R to the dhcpcd command you are telling it not to update the /etc/resolv.conf file
you can find out lots more about the dhcpcd command by running "man dhcpcd" in a terminal
You can also do the same for most linux commands
Thanks a lot:-)
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
fuelinux
Member
*
Posts: 52



« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2008, 02:18:24 am »

The difference between your old resolv.config file and the new one is nameserver  208.67.222.222 which already is on my file. So I think your file won't work with my network Sad
Beside that nameserver 192.168.1.254 shows that you might be on corporate LAN too and you have "internal" nameserver serving your network. It is useless for my situation.

Will it work if I replace that string after search with IP address for my network's proxy?

I think I'll have to play with it.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2008, 02:20:43 am by fuelinux » Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 Standard
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2008, 11:08:51 am »

Actualy It is not exactly 'my' resolv.config...
I took it from previous page and inserted instead of my old one...
And it works!!! So I think you could try to do the same.
I am connected through 2wire router.

ps.
What is LAN means???
I am sorry for my lack of knowledge...
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
fuelinux
Member
*
Posts: 52



« Reply #20 on: April 13, 2008, 11:32:41 pm »

Quote
What is LAN means???
Local Area Network - simply a network at home, office or wherever Smiley

Quote
Actualy It is not exactly 'my' resolv.config...
I took it from previous page and inserted instead of my old one...
And it works!!!
I don't get it. It's not your resolv.conf but it still works on your machine?
Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 Standard
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2008, 09:24:55 am »

Quote
Local Area Network - simply a network at home, office or wherever
Thanks:-)
Quote
I don't get it. It's not your resolv.conf but it still works on your machine?
I took it from the previous page - http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5079.msg37391#msg37391 and it works...
I just replaced my old resolv.conf by that code.
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
fuelinux
Member
*
Posts: 52



« Reply #22 on: April 15, 2008, 02:27:11 am »

still no result Sad
Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 Standard
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!