VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 11:36:49 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Grub commands for booting Vector  (Read 2449 times)
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« on: November 05, 2007, 01:33:15 am »

I've got the most recent Vector 5.9 beta installed. Since I already had several Linux distributions installed on the machine, I simply added my own section to /grub/menu.lst on the original distribution. I'm using this:

title Vector Linux 5.9 beta2.8
root (hd0,11)
kernel (hd0,11)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22.9 root=/dev/hda12 vga=791 quiet
initrd (hd0,11)/boot/initrd
boot

Can anyone provide me with a normal Vector entry for Grub, as generated by the install? I'm just interested to know if there is anything else I should be using...

paul.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2007, 07:46:18 am »

here is one of my grub listings

    title Vector hdb9
    root (hd1,8)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hdb9 vga=0x317 splash=silent ro
    initrd /boot/initrd

HIH,
Uelsk8s
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2007, 12:29:20 am »

here is one of my grub listings

    title Vector hdb9
    root (hd1,8)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hdb9 vga=0x317 splash=silent ro
    initrd /boot/initrd

 Grin Thanks. Now I get to see the Vector splash screen....

paul
Logged
Freeman
Tester
Vectorite
****
Posts: 323


Choice to the user!


« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2007, 02:24:17 pm »

I just installed the VL-5.9-Gold via vinstall-iso, starting from my Ubuntu.

This is what I've put in Grub:

Code:
title Ubuntu 7.10 (sda7)
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-14-generic root=UUID=de6297ca-df37-4936-9ecb-01e77dc28483 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic
quiet

title Vectorlinux 5.9 (sda6)
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22.14 root=/dev/hda6 vga=0x317 splash=silent ro
initrd /boot/initrd

Now Ubuntu just works fine, but when I try to compleet my install/startup for the first time my new Vectorlinux, it stops and tells me: "The root file-system /dev/sda6 is read only" then I'm dropped at the commandline to fix the problem... Can't seem to figure out why it's read only... Sad
Logged

It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2007, 03:27:48 pm »

im not sure why its not being remounted rw. you can try changing your grub kernel line from ro to rw
kernel      /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22.14 root=/dev/hda6 vga=0x317 splash=silent ro
kernel      /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22.14 root=/dev/hda6 vga=0x317 splash=silent rw

it should work but may give an error at boot
Logged
Freeman
Tester
Vectorite
****
Posts: 323


Choice to the user!


« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2007, 06:23:44 am »

Hi Uelsk8s, yes it does work and indeed, it gives me an error at boot time which says: it's allready mounted read-write, add to read-only option to your lilo... really bizar behaviour don't you think? :p
Logged

It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2007, 07:33:04 am »

yes I do  Huh
Logged
Birdman
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2007, 11:02:00 am »

Just found this thread and I am in the situation that I have other distros installed and I am therefore using the Ubuntu grub installation for the time being (will be moving permanently to VL soon  Smiley ). I have no problem booting VL at all but I am curious about the final line: initrd /boot/initrd. I do not have this and everything runs fine. Is there a good reason to change things and start using the initrd?
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2007, 11:20:44 am »

the "initrd      /boot/initrd" line is only good for bootsplash, that is the initrd file only contains bootsplash images.
Logged
Freeman
Tester
Vectorite
****
Posts: 323


Choice to the user!


« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2007, 12:20:13 pm »

Hi Birdman, can you post me your grub menu.lst please? Then I can have a look if it has ro or rw. With read and write it boots fine, but stops to tell me it has to be read-only. And with read-only it wont boot at all. Is it possible my Grub problem has something to do with my vinstall-iso started from a running Ubuntu? Just a thougt...
Logged

It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.
Birdman
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2007, 03:14:27 pm »

No probs Freeman:
Code:
title Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic
root (hd1,8)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-14-generic root=UUID=d3053362-e4fc-455b-bdd0-d9cd9f6f5435 ro quiet splash acpi=off
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic
quiet

# linux installation on /dev/sda5.
title Vector Linux
root (hd1,0)
kernel /VL/vmlinuz-2.6.22.14 root=/dev/hda5 ro
savedefault
boot
This is the critical Ubuntu and VL stuff. I have other distros and WinXP that is not relevant. Just to explain, I have the root file system for Ubuntu on one partition, including /boot. I have moved my VL /boot directory onto a separate partition that I use as a "master boot" area. The VL stuff is in its own dir, /VL/. I hope that makes sense.

Am I missing any of the action with the boot splash? I quite like to see all the stuff scrolling by on the screen so that I can see what's going on.
Logged
Freeman
Tester
Vectorite
****
Posts: 323


Choice to the user!


« Reply #11 on: December 25, 2007, 04:43:32 am »

Thx Birdman! Your lines are also read-only.. hmmm.. gues it has something to do with the vinstall-iso. Can't seem to figure it out, have tried a dozen of combinations, but none work without interrupting the bootprocess...
By the way, the bootsplashimage looks nicer then the crowdy pinguis from the previous builds. Just my toughts.
Logged

It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.
Freeman
Tester
Vectorite
****
Posts: 323


Choice to the user!


« Reply #12 on: December 26, 2007, 05:14:03 am »

Today I got myself a new bunch of empty discs and wrote the new VL-5.9 were it belongs > on CD Smiley Guess, guess, my GRUB problem went away. So it has something to do when using vinstall-iso, because now I don't get an error anymore. So me verry happy now!!! Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Logged

It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!