VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold  (Read 15544 times)

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #15 on: January 03, 2008, 09:12:13 pm »

just install compiz-fusion in my compaq nc6000 laptop..........it doesn't as it should be as it show below msg when I run this:

Quote
hata_ph:$ compiz --replace
compiz (core) - Fatal: GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap is missing
compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #16 on: January 03, 2008, 09:18:49 pm »

Quote
Fatal: GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap is missing
This is an ATI driver error. I have found no resolution for it yet.
I hope you do better
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #17 on: January 03, 2008, 09:24:25 pm »

hhmmm....will try to change different driver and see...
btw, my xfce virtual desktop is missing.....how can i get it back?

EDIT:
A tweak to the xfce windows manager have give me back the 4 virtual desktop.....  :P
« Last Edit: January 03, 2008, 10:59:41 pm by hata_ph »
Logged

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #18 on: January 04, 2008, 04:48:47 am »

I don't have compiz-fusion running at this moment, but by memory...
If you right click the icon in your tray, there is a entry, you can switch from compiz back to xfce and it restores xfce for me.
Logged

gondes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #19 on: January 07, 2008, 09:20:38 pm »

Uelsk,
thank's for sharing your compiz.tlz, now compiz running fine on my  VL59 final. Can you put them permanently somewhere so other people can use them too... (Still wondering why I cannot compile them myself correctly ....).  :-\

Thanks again,

gondes
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #20 on: January 13, 2008, 07:47:17 pm »

Logged

florut

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • Personal Website
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #21 on: January 14, 2008, 02:33:57 am »

hata_ph,
I got compiz-fusion running on ATI tonight by downloading these packages:
http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xorg-server-1.3.0.0-i486-2.tgz http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xf86-input-keyboard-1.2.0-i486-1.tgz http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xf86-input-mouse-1.2.1-i486-1.tgz
and running upgradepkg *tgz in the folder I downloaded to

Uelsk8s
Does not work for me.
- Which version of ATI drivers are you using ?
- Could you please submit your xorg.conf ? I suspect bad config issue...
Logged
Proudly running VL 5.9 DLX GOLD 2.6.22.14 + KDE 3.8
...on my ASUS laptop with Pentium-M @1.8Ghz + ATI Mobility X700 + Intel Wireless 2200BG

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #22 on: January 14, 2008, 06:58:55 am »

I am using the 8.42.3 drivers that come with 5.9 on my x300 mobility
I installed the drivers then installed compiz from slapt-get then when that didnt work i installed the xorg packages.
I also commented out the last line in /etc/profile.d/vasm.sh
here is my xorg.conf I didnt do any manual editing it is what was produced by vxconf
Code: [Select]
uel:$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "X.org Configured"
Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load  "glx"
Load  "extmod"
Load  "xtrap"
Load  "record"
Load  "GLcore"
Load  "dbe"
Load  "dri"
Load  "freetype"
Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Keyboard0"
Driver      "kbd"
Option  "XkbLayout"  "us"    ## KEYBOARD_MAP!
Option  "XkbModel"  ""    ## KEYBOARD_MODEL!
Option  "Xkbvariant"  ""    ## KEYBOARD_VARIANT!
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Mouse0"
Driver      "mouse"
Option      "Protocol" "auto"
Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
 DisplaySize 336 269 # 96 DPI @ 1280x1024 (non 4:3 aspect)
  Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
#DisplaySize      290   210     # mm
Identifier   "Monitor0"
VendorName   "SEC"
ModelName    "3450"
HorizSync 31.5-64
VertRefresh 40-90
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option     "NoAccel"                   # [<bool>]
#Option     "SWcursor"                  # [<bool>]
#Option     "Dac6Bit"                   # [<bool>]
#Option     "Dac8Bit"                   # [<bool>]
#Option     "BusType"                   # [<str>]
#Option     "CPPIOMode"                 # [<bool>]
#Option     "CPusecTimeout"             # <i>
#Option     "AGPMode"                   # <i>
#Option     "AGPFastWrite"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "AGPSize"                   # <i>
#Option     "GARTSize"                  # <i>
#Option     "RingSize"                  # <i>
#Option     "BufferSize"                # <i>
#Option     "EnableDepthMoves"          # [<bool>]
#Option     "EnablePageFlip"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "NoBackBuffer"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "DMAForXv"                  # [<bool>]
#Option     "FBTexPercent"              # <i>
#Option     "DepthBits"                 # <i>
#Option     "PCIAPERSize"               # <i>
#Option     "AccelDFS"                  # [<bool>]
#Option     "DDCMode"                   # [<bool>]
#Option     "IgnoreEDID"                # [<bool>]
#Option     "DisplayPriority"           # [<str>]
#Option     "PanelSize"                 # [<str>]
#Option     "ForceMinDotClock"          # <freq>
#Option     "ColorTiling"               # [<bool>]
#Option     "VideoKey"                  # <i>
#Option     "RageTheatreCrystal"        # <i>
#Option     "RageTheatreTunerPort"      # <i>
#Option     "RageTheatreCompositePort"  # <i>
#Option     "RageTheatreSVideoPort"     # <i>
#Option     "TunerType"                 # <i>
#Option     "RageTheatreMicrocPath"     # <str>
#Option     "RageTheatreMicrocType"     # <str>
#Option     "ScalerWidth"               # <i>
#Option     "RenderAccel"               # [<bool>]
#Option     "SubPixelOrder"             # [<str>]
#Option     "ShowCache"                 # [<bool>]
#Option     "DynamicClocks"             # [<bool>]
#Option     "VGAAccess"                 # [<bool>]
#Option     "ReverseDDC"                # [<bool>]
#Option     "LVDSProbePLL"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "AccelMethod"               # <str>
#Option     "DRI"                       # [<bool>]
#Option     "ConnectorTable"            # <str>
#Option     "DefaultConnectorTable"     # [<bool>]
#Option     "DefaultTMDSPLL"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "TVDACLoadDetect"           # [<bool>]
Identifier  "Card0"
Driver      "fglrx"
VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
BoardName   "M22 [Mobility Radeon X300]"
BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device     "Card0"
Monitor    "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     1
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     4
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     15
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection
             
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "on"
EndSection
Logged

florut

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • Personal Website
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #23 on: January 14, 2008, 01:54:23 pm »

Thanks !  ;D

Indeed it works fine with latest ati drivers, automatic xorg.conf, last line in /etc/profile.d/vasm.sh commented out, and deluxe compiz packages (+ libwnck).

The only problem is that display is a bit slow, particularly scrolling down windows. I'll try vl ati drivers later...
[edit] same thing with compiz-fusion 20080108-i586-1vl59 from repos

« Last Edit: January 14, 2008, 02:07:44 pm by florut »
Logged
Proudly running VL 5.9 DLX GOLD 2.6.22.14 + KDE 3.8
...on my ASUS laptop with Pentium-M @1.8Ghz + ATI Mobility X700 + Intel Wireless 2200BG

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #24 on: January 14, 2008, 06:55:51 pm »

hata_ph,
I got compiz-fusion running on ATI tonight by downloading these packages:
http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xorg-server-1.3.0.0-i486-2.tgz http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xf86-input-keyboard-1.2.0-i486-1.tgz http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xf86-input-mouse-1.2.1-i486-1.tgz
and running upgradepkg *tgz in the folder I downloaded to

Uelsk8s

It work...but then the xfce taskbar become grey in color...strange.......

below is the screenshot I take......

« Last Edit: January 14, 2008, 06:59:16 pm by hata_ph »
Logged

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #25 on: January 17, 2008, 03:58:09 am »

I've had quite a couple of weird graphics related trouble on the same type of laptop, especially when using transparency. It happened with wbar and tilda, and with yakuake when not running KDE (the latter 2 only have trouble when transparency is enabled) . I've been told the 'ati' driver isn't all that it should be, there are a lot of bugreports for that chipset on the x.org bugtracker: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/buglist.cgi?quicksearch=mach64 . This doesn't necessarily mean that the ati driver is in fact the problem, but it's something to take into account. The driver uelsk8s is using is the proprietary one (fglrx). Unfortunately, we don't have to expect ati to ever produce a driver for old cards, so we'll have to do with the (reverse engineered) drivers provided by X.
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

InTheWoods

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #26 on: February 02, 2008, 09:01:10 am »

I have the same problem as in the original post here. NO WINDOW DECORATIONS. I cannot resize windows either but wobbly windows are working. And I can enable 3d windows. I have window decorations checked.

I am running this on a Toshiba laptop with Nvidia GeFORCE FX GO 5200 graphics so it's not an ATI driver problem. I too installed as per the HOW TO but I have the most up to date ports.

I did try running
Code: [Select]
export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=0 && fusion-iconand I got this
Code: [Select]
* Detected Session: xfce4
 * Searching for installed applications...
Backend     : ini
Integration : true
Profile     : default
Adding plugin decoration (decoration)
Initializing decoration options...done
 * NVIDIA on Xorg detected, exporting: __GL_YIELD=NOTHING
 * Using the GTK Interface
 * Xfwm4 is already running

I then had to right click on compiz fusion icon and select compiz as my window manager.

But still no window decorations.

It's as though the Window Decorations and Resize Windows plugins are not present. Which of course they are or everyone would be having this problem.
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #27 on: February 02, 2008, 09:28:17 am »

InTheWoods,
try typing "emerald" in a terminal.
post any errors back here. I think it may be missing a dep
Logged

M-ake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #28 on: February 02, 2008, 09:31:42 am »

If Uel's advice doesnt work then you can try running
Code: [Select]
LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1 compiz --replace ccp &worked for my intel lappy.
Logged
Jumalauta!!
--
Fish go m00!

InTheWoods

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
Re: Compiz on VL 5.9 Gold
« Reply #29 on: February 02, 2008, 03:57:15 pm »

Quote
hata_ph,
I got compiz-fusion running on ATI tonight by downloading these packages:
http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xorg-server-1.3.0.0-i486-2.tgz http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xf86-input-keyboard-1.2.0-i486-1.tgz http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.0/slackware/x/xf86-input-mouse-1.2.1-i486-1.tgz
and running upgradepkg *tgz in the folder I downloaded to

OK, I stupidly ran installpkg instead of upgradepkg and broke my x-windows. I could not recover using VASM. Fortunately I am still in the testing phase with 5.8 running on another partition so I just reinstalled.

Unfortunately this means I have to rebuild Compiz-Fusion and all of its components. Or do I?

Is the Compiz-Fusion package in the repository complete? I tried it before and it did not install due do to a missing dependency (orbit) which as far as I can tell is actually present.

I don't have time tonight but I will be back in a day or two with some errors for Uelsk8s and results from M-ake's suggestion.

Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4