VectorLinux
April 20, 2014, 03:59:47 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Virtualbox, no sound.  (Read 4524 times)
Kerstin
Member
*
Posts: 26


« on: December 29, 2007, 07:58:18 am »

As the topic says, I have no sound in virtualbox. In VL the soundcard works just fine. I have tried to enable both alsa and oss in virtualbox without success. Anyone got a clue about this?

Thx
Logged
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2007, 08:47:52 am »

I too have had this problem. The limited attempts to fix this on my laptop have made me think that sharing the sound card is more than just making it available to VBox. If I have something using sound when I load VBox then I can't use it. If I start using sound under VL then I loose it in VBox even if it was available. (I have noted similar problems when trying to use the sound resources to edit with Audacity and listen to a CD at the same time.) It seems that exclusive use of my sound card is expected. I'm sure there's a work around for this but I haven't taken the time to look yet.

BTW there's a new VirtualBox out today: 1.5.4.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
Kerstin
Member
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2007, 11:39:31 pm »

That did it  Cheesy. By disabling ALSA in sound system(kde control center) i finally got sound.

Thanx.
Logged
Birdman
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2008, 07:32:40 am »

Where can I get Virtualbox i.e. it is not in the regular repos but I notice from the forums that a package is available?
Logged
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2008, 10:12:57 am »

At the VirtualBox web site: http://www.virtualbox.org/
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
Birdman
Member
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2008, 10:39:55 am »

OK. So there isn't a Vector specific package? I am new to Vector and do not wish to lose control of installed software. Am I best therefore using something like the Fedora rpm and using rpm2tgz so as to retain control of installation with pkgtool? I do note that there is an "All distributions" option but I am not clear on how that works.

Thanks.
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2008, 03:32:27 pm »

Yea, you can go for the all distributions one... that's how I did it, and it works fine.
Because it won't show up in gslapt, you can install it in /opt, so that you don't lose track of it... that way, when you want to remove it, it will suffice to remove the Virtual Box directory.

Note that you'll be downloading the binary version, that contains proprietary components. But will give some advantages relative to the open source edition such as better mouse and graphic integration, shared clipboards and folders, and usb support.
Logged
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2008, 10:43:49 pm »

There is a VirtualBox package (1.4.x) in the repositories (extra I think). You will need to enable that repository in your gslapt options to see it.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!