VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 08:24:04 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Drive mounting  (Read 1756 times)
roalush
Member
*
Posts: 7


« on: December 29, 2007, 09:01:55 am »

I 'm completely new to Linux.
Just installed VL on my old machine and so far I've found it fast and stable so I'm very pleased.

My problems are:

1.  I created a partition for the VL setup (8 GB)  and another for my data (12GB) after installation I've found out that VL used the second partition as a swap partition and I can't find it on my system. Tried to re-partition with VASM but when I rebooted nothing changed.

2. I have 2 optical drives: Pioneer DVD-ROM and Samsung CD-RW. The CD-RW works fine But the dvd doesn't respond at all (I have a /dev /dvd in my devices but it doesn't do anything when I mount it).

3. I don't have a codec for DVD playback.

I tried some solutions I've found on the forums, but I couldn't edit the fstab file , how do I do that?

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 09:04:30 am by roalush » Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2007, 10:57:27 am »

Hi roalush

Could you post the output of running fdisk -l as root from the command line? Open a Terminal, type su and then your root password. Then fdisk -l.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2007, 07:45:18 pm »

I tried some solutions I've found on the forums, but I couldn't edit the fstab file , how do I do that?

You have to be root to edit /etc/fstab. In a terminal type su and then the root password. Then start a text editor (for example, mcedit if you're at a console, mousepad if you're in XFce). Edit and save.

Since you're new, I recommend copying /etc/fstab to something like /etc/fstab_old before you do any editing of /etc/fstab.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
roalush
Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2008, 01:31:26 am »

Maybe you can help with my DVD problem.
I have 2 devices connected to the same IDE:
HDC - Pioneer DVD-ROM as master.
HDD - Samsung CD-RW as slave.

VL only recognizes HDD.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2008, 01:34:31 am by roalush » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2008, 05:32:25 am »

Please post the content of your /etc/fstab file here.
Logged
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2008, 11:07:36 am »

Since you're new, I recommend copying /etc/fstab to something like /etc/fstab_old before you do any editing of /etc/fstab.
--GrannyGeek

Sage advice. One could also set up the editor to back up files. Smiley
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!