VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 10:30:56 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Brief Introduction  (Read 1777 times)
BGillespie

Where have I known you?

« on: January 06, 2008, 01:03:58 am »

Good Evening,

I've never been much of a forum-goer in the past, but I've been having enough trouble with my current project that I thought it would be a good idea to consult with some veterans of the free software world.  I'm currently a college sophomore, and I've been dabbling in Linux for about a year and in free software for two.  I'm actually aiming at mathematics as a career, but programming and academic computer science have been an interest of mine for some time.  My hope is to eventually get involved in some open source projects, and right now I'm trying to acquaint myself with the landscape.

I appreciate the efforts of the more experienced users to provide a helpful resource to those of us who are new here.  Thanks in advance for any help that I receive, and I hope that I can eventually contribute to the community.

Yours,
B. Gillespie
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2008, 05:55:06 am »

Welcome to the Forum, B.
I hope you enjoy the ride. I am already curious about your project.
Do you play trumpet too?   Grin Forgive me, surely everybody says something like that  Embarrassed

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian