VectorLinux
April 24, 2014, 03:12:51 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: VL64-5.9-STD Beta 1 Bugs/annoyances  (Read 9926 times)
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« on: January 08, 2008, 10:58:34 pm »

Please post bugs for VL64-5.9-STD Beta 1  Below.

Thanks for testing,
Uelsk8s
Logged
Kocil
Member
*
Posts: 96

Eko M. Budi


« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2008, 07:39:27 pm »

Ah .... something to do in the week end.
I'm burning it ....  Grin Grin Grin
Logged
Kocil
Member
*
Posts: 96

Eko M. Budi


« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2008, 09:24:54 pm »

Ok, the reports ...
Firstly, I'm sending this from VL64-5.9-B1. SO it is running. Good news Smiley

MY HARDWARE:
-------------------
- Toshiba Satellite A215-S4697
- AMD Turion X2 Dual Core
- 1 GB RAM
- SATA Harddisk, 160 GB
- IDE CD/DVD drive
Code:
root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 7910
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 7912
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 7915
00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 7916
00:07.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 7917
00:12.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 Non-Raid-5 SATA
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI0)
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI1)
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI2)
00:13.3 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI3)
00:13.4 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI4)
00:13.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB Controller (EHCI)
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 SMBus (rev 14)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 IDE
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 Azalia
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 PCI to LPC Bridge
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon X1200 Series
0e:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)
14:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5006EG 802.11 b/g Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
1a:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
1a:04.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCIxx12 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
1a:04.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)
1a:04.3 Generic system peripheral [0805]: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 SDA Standard Compliant SD Host Controller

INSTALLATION:
--------------------
- Boot from CD.
Hey, no hichcup here. The harddisk is detected as /dev/sda, and the CDROM is as /dev/hda.
Good. This is the same as Ubuntu64.
On the other hand, Slamd64 failed to recognized the harddisk.
 
- I found the familiar VL Installer, went through all the procedure as usual
No exception found, because I took the straight path up to the package selection.

- Hit the Install button.
Bug: I saw some packages break the installation bar, e.g: the AdobeAcrobatReader.
Bug: By the end of packages installation, a segmentation fault occurred.

- LILO setup
Bug: I could not install LILO. I chose the SIMPLE method but it asked if I want to Cancel the installation.
So I SKIP LILO.

- Configure Time, Network, etc
Bug: The installer cannot read /proc/cmdline

- Configure Alsa:
Bug: No sound card detected

- Configure XServer:
I don't want to take the risk, so I chose VESA for now.

- Set Password
Bug: cannot set the password.

Installation finished with 3 segmentation fault on the screen.

REBOOTING
---------------
Got to use the CDROM again, because LILO was not installed.
Use the prompt:
linux root=/dev/sda9  2


USING IT
==============
Login from console : OK
Launch startx : OK
Wow, I've not seen VL for quite some time so I was a bit surprised with the look Smiley Nice one.

Launch Terminal: damn, the old hacker cannot get rid of old habit Smiley
Set the network using vnetconf : OK
Set the sound using valsaconf: It worked.
So I guess the kernel modules was not properly loaded at the installation.

That's it for now.
Good job uelsk, though still need some more testing and finishing touch.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2008, 09:50:15 pm »

Thanks Kocil.
We could really use someone like you to help out around here, if you run into some free time let us know.
Logged
Kocil
Member
*
Posts: 96

Eko M. Budi


« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2008, 01:46:31 pm »

More testing

HARDWARE RELATED (not much you can do I guess)

1. Sound card
valsaconf setups it, the sound comes out (xmms, xine, etc can use it)
but volume control can't work.
alsamixer shows no pcm volume, xfce mixer shows 0% and cannot be changed.


2. Video card
Well, blame ATI I guess. The propriatery FLRGX does not work.
I used vxconf, chose flrgx driver, went through the ati-installer process,
I saw some errors, and finished.
After that, startx failed, it said the flrgx driver cannot be loaded.
So now only radeonhd driver works. No 3D acceleration of course Sad


3. Wireless
Ah atheros ... , must compile propriatery driver.
Can it be include like the ATI / NVIDIA ?


4. USB Harddisk
When I plugged it in, the system did not mount it automatically.
VL-Hot does not work maybe.


GUI LOGIN
----------
- fluxbox does not work
- MWM/TWM, I opt to exclude them from the menu. Just .... it is better to hide them  Cheesy


SOFTWARE RELATED
--------------------

These programs cannot run:
1. vpackager: Bus Error
2. vasmCC : Bus Error
3. Acrobat reader : Bus Error
4. pidgin: Bus Error
5. Firefox : Bus Error
6. opera: segmentation fault  (doh, two browsers out of 4 !)
7. scribus: Segmentation fault
8. gmplayer: Segmentation fault

I guess, the bus error is something related to dbus.
At the installation, I chose vl-hot instead of dbus.
So I guess I got to turn-on the dbus.
Hey ... where is the configurator ?
Never mind ... CLI always works ;-)


KERNEL
-------
The compilation host was not right.
The time shows "localtime zone must be set".

I saw a lot of patches in /usr/src/build-kernel-xxxxxx
Could somebody give a quick HOW-TO use that, please.


GARBAGE
----------
1. /opt/kde/share , contains cpufreq desktop.


QUESTIONS
-----------
1. /srv, what is that for ?
2. /usr/ports, what is it ?


Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2008, 01:52:11 pm »

Code:
I saw a lot of patches in /usr/src/build-kernel-xxxxxx
Could somebody give a quick HOW-TO use that, please.
download kernel-src into /usr/src/build-kernel-xxxxxx and run ./build.kernel

Quote
2. /usr/ports, what is it ?
it is the ports data for cruxports4slack
cd into one of the dirs and run pkgmk -d


Uelsk8s
Logged
Kocil
Member
*
Posts: 96

Eko M. Budi


« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2008, 02:25:24 pm »

I'm hacking the ATI video problem.
This is my first time dealing with ATI.
I've been googling it for 1 hour , but so far, no good Sad

1. There is no generic "ATI driver compilation how-to". I'm surprised.
UBuntu, Gento, Suse, have their own method.
But no slackware Sad

2. I see a post saying that the open source driver in Xorg 7.2 gives 3D accell.
So far, I could not get it.
This is Xorg 7.3 right ? Which open source driver ? ati or radeonhd ?
How to enable it ?

Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2008, 06:17:37 pm »

the fglrx driver works here on my card.
the latest ati and radeonhd drivers are here

as long as you have dri turned on in your xorg.conf you should have some 3d capabilities.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2008, 09:13:10 pm by uelsk8s » Logged
Kocil
Member
*
Posts: 96

Eko M. Budi


« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2008, 09:07:27 pm »

Hmmm, those are 486 drivers. Do they work with VL64 ?

Well, if it works on you, I'm not giving up trying the flgrx drivers .... but it must wait till the next week end Sad
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2008, 09:12:42 pm »

sorry,
good you caught that.
latest are here:
http://data.bluewhite64.com/bluewhite64-current/bluewhite64/x/xf86-video-ati-6.7.197-x86_64-1.tgz
http://data.bluewhite64.com/bluewhite64-current/bluewhite64/x/xf86-video-radeonhd-1.1.0-x86_64-1.tgz
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2265


« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2008, 03:36:14 pm »

After an issue with the fonts caused by an install using the iso method from a 32bits host -fixed by Uel at #vectorlinux- I was testing for a few hours. First I found the root of the fonts problem. The install went fine but exited before the hw autodetect. The fonts package installed after the X configuration. In this case that never happened, hence, X wont start. I configured everything through vasm with no problems, but vasm does not install the fonts pkg after X configuration. So here it is if you have a similar problem.
I tried to start all the apps in the menu one by one, here are the results:

Opera:
Code:
ERROR: ld.so: object 'libjvm.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object 'libawt.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
/usr/lib/opera/9.23-20070809.6/opera: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Doing a symlink didn't work, but because of other problem:
Code:
root:# ln -s /usr/lib64/libGL.so.1 /usr/lib32/libGL.so.1
vector://home/rbistolfi
root:# ldconfig
vector://home/rbistolfi
root:# opera
ERROR: ld.so: object 'libjvm.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object 'libawt.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
/usr/lib/opera/9.23-20070809.6/opera: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

Looks like we need to compile opera in a 64bits environment. By the way, should we notice to the packagers that the buildscripts can be made for compiling in a 64bits environment too?, perhaps could save a lot of work later.
 
vcpufrec:
Code:
Syntax error in project file.
Cannot preload libraries: Success
sizeof(CLASS) = 256 !
gbx: Swapping archive
ERROR: #1: Out of memory
Segmentation fault

vl-hot-config:
Code:
Syntax error in project file.
Cannot preload libraries: Success
sizeof(CLASS) = 256 !
gbx: Swapping archive
ERROR: #1: Out of memory
Segmentation fault

acroread displays this warning in a pop-up:
Code:
Unable to find the HTML rendering library (libgtkembedmoz).
it works though.

Everything else started at least, I will do some work on this baby and see how it performs.
One weird thing, attempting to run a non-working app as root from the menu makes me unable to launch anything else. The user account has not this problem. I can run for example "opera", get the error message and keep running other working apps.

EDIT: I forgot, the nvidia driver compiled as expected.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2008, 03:50:13 pm »

rbistolfi,
I think opera comes with its own libGL
We can not compile 64bit opera because the source is not open.

I think Exeterdad is putting together a slackbuild template that will do 32 and 64 dynamically.
the code you need to add is here:
ARCH=${ARCH:-$(uname -m)}
if [ "$ARCH" = "i?86" ]; then
  ARCH=i586
  SLKCFLAGS="-O2 -march=i586 -mtune=i686"
  CONFIGURE_TRIPLET="i486-slackware-linux"
elif [ "$ARCH" = "x86_64" ]; then
  SLKCFLAGS="-O2 -fpic"
  CONFIGURE_TRIPLET="x86_64-pc-linux"
fi
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2265


« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2008, 03:56:54 pm »

rbistolfi,
I think opera comes with its own libGL
We can not compile 64bit opera because the source is not open.

Oh, right  Roll Eyes. A recompile got me out of the "wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64" error before, that is why I suggested it.
That code is exactly what I had in mind, I will use it to build some apps from the 32 repo and see how this works.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
JAwuku
Member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2008, 02:37:36 am »

Hi,

I'm very much looking forward to 64-bit Vector Linux, especially with full 32-bit library compatibility. I came across the announcement in this week's Distrowatch newsletter. I hope to download and install it over the coming weekend.

Two things I noticed in previous posts:

1) Acroread missing the lib

acroread displays this warning in a pop-up:
Code:
Unable to find the HTML rendering library (libgtkembedmoz).
it works though.


I run Acroread 8.1.1 under 64-bit Archlinux.

To eliminate the missing library error, I had to download the 32-bit package of xulrunner, which contains the libgtkembedmoz.so library.

I imagine this package would be on the 32-bit VL 5.8/5.9 repositories.

Then extract it to a local directory of your choice (don't install it),

then run acroread, and go to the menu Preferences > Internet > libgtkembedmoz Folder.

Enter the directory in which the libgtkembedmoz.so library file is at.

If everything went well, Acroread will tell you to restart.

This should also install the Mozilla plugin, which should show up under a 32-bit firefox, or I assume also under Nspluginwrapper under 64-bit.

2) 64-bit CFLAGS
rbistolfi,
I think opera comes with its own libGL
We can not compile 64bit opera because the source is not open.

I think Exeterdad is putting together a slackbuild template that will do 32 and 64 dynamically.
the code you need to add is here:
ARCH=${ARCH:-$(uname -m)}
if [ "$ARCH" = "i?86" ]; then
  ARCH=i586
  SLKCFLAGS="-O2 -march=i586 -mtune=i686"
  CONFIGURE_TRIPLET="i486-slackware-linux"
elif [ "$ARCH" = "x86_64" ]; then
  SLKCFLAGS="-O2 -fpic"
  CONFIGURE_TRIPLET="x86_64-pc-linux"
fi

For 64-bit compilation, would  there be any gains if we were to set the flags to:

Code:
elif [ "$ARCH" = "x86_64" ]; then
  SLKCFLAGS="-mtune=generic -mfpmath=sse -O2 -fpic"

The "-mtune=generic" option would force the compiler to produce code for both Intel and AMD.

Would the "-mpmath=sse" make use of the SSE/SSE2 floating point instead of the less efficient 387 by default?  Just an idea.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2008, 03:17:32 am by JAwuku » Logged
zolee
Member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2008, 08:02:26 am »

I've some troubles with the 64 bit version. During the installation process it stops after SGI XFS Quota Management line and a few io sheduler lines. How can I see what is wrong, or where is the problem. My machine is a Gigabyte MB with nforce chipset, AMD X2 5200 CPU, 2GB RAM, one IDE and one SATA HDD. Sorry but I don't know how to send you any more info which can help me, you. (The 64bit version of Ubuntu works fine)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!