VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 03:55:10 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Corruption errors when installing packages  (Read 2237 times)
mdev
Member
*
Posts: 7



« on: January 09, 2008, 02:23:19 pm »

HI all,

I've managed to install from VL 5.9 Live with only minor issues (which I've resolved), but now I am having problems installing or updating anything thereafter.

It doesn't matter whether I use gslapt, slapt-get, installpkg...I always get "ERROR: Package is corrupt" messages and the install fails. I can open any of the .tlz packages (and extract from them) using xarchiver, so I'm pretty sure the packages are not corrupt at all. Downloaded packages are going into /home/ftp, but I've tried manually doing things from, say, home/<username>/temp (in case it's a permissions problem or something) and the issue persists.

Any ideas?
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 02:28:51 pm »

Do you have a swap partition? and how much ram does your box have?
Logged

mdev
Member
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2008, 02:35:54 pm »

Do you have a swap partition?
Yup.
Fstab (anything wrong there?):
Code:
dev/hda1 / ext3        defaults        1 1
/dev/hda6 /home ext3    defaults        1 2
/dev/hda5       none   swap   sw   0  0
Parted tells me I have 3.90GB of it.

Quote
and how much ram does your box have?
512MB
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2008, 02:41:17 pm »

please paste the contents of
Code:
free
Logged

uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2008, 02:56:32 pm »

try running "lzma" from a CL
Logged
mdev
Member
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2008, 03:00:21 pm »

Righty-o, here is the contents of "free":

Code:
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:        445636     292944     152692          0      12040     169848
-/+ buffers/cache:     111056     334580
Swap:      4088500          0    4088500

Logged
mdev
Member
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2008, 03:04:17 pm »

try running "lzma" from a CL

No problems there:
Code:
lzma -dtv audacious-1.3.2-i486-1.tlz
audacious-1.3.2-i486-1.tlz:      decoded succesfully
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2008, 03:06:07 pm »

Would running md5sum against the downloaded packages using the repo .m5dsum file be useful to ensure they truely aren't corrupt downloads?
edit:
I guess your previous post basically takes this out of the equation Cheesy
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2008, 03:08:03 pm »

I would suggest reinstalling pkgtools-tukaani then
Logged
mdev
Member
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2008, 03:15:08 pm »

I would suggest reinstalling pkgtools-tukaani then

Code:
ERROR: Package is corrupt: /home/ftp/pub/veclinux/packages/./base/pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tlz

Failed to execute command: [/sbin/upgradepkg --reinstall /home/ftp/pub/veclinux/packages/./base/pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tlz]

Aiieeeee.

Oh well, I take it I can just extract the contents manually and dump them over the original (or something similar)?


Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2008, 03:18:05 pm »

I would suggest reinstalling pkgtools-tukaani then

Code:
ERROR: Package is corrupt: /home/ftp/pub/veclinux/packages/./base/pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tlz

Failed to execute command: [/sbin/upgradepkg --reinstall /home/ftp/pub/veclinux/packages/./base/pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tlz]

Aiieeeee.

Oh well, I take it I can just extract the contents manually and dump them over the original (or something similar)?



yep you can extract them right into / and then run /install/doinst.sh and rm -r /install
Logged
mdev
Member
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2008, 04:19:39 pm »

Reinstalling pkgtools-tukaani didn't fix it. Oh well.

Edit: even using the '--no-md5' option gives a corrupt error.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2008, 04:25:39 pm by mdev » Logged
mdev
Member
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2008, 11:52:24 pm »

Okay, I've reinstalled using the "normal" VL 5.9 media, and everything works fine now.

Thanks to everyone for the prompt responses, even if it didn't fix things for my Live CD install!  Cheesy
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!