VectorLinux
September 21, 2014, 07:53:29 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Access issues  (Read 2495 times)
jduped
Vectorite
***
Posts: 127


Don't Worry, Be Happy


« on: January 09, 2008, 06:07:45 pm »

I'm running VL 5.9 Gold on two boxes and both have the same issue...

I can't get into anything that requires a root password

gslapt
root thunar

anything that would normally prompt for a password prior to use in xwindows doesn't seem to work.

I'm wondering if any one else is having this issue, if theres something I can do to fix it, or what.

I wanted to buy the deluxe version of vl but with out a working 5.9 gold...I'm hesitant to buy anything.  I didn't experience this issue in 5.9 rc1 or rc3

Perhaps a bad copy?
Logged

Ask Yourself

rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2283


« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 06:19:52 pm »

Hi jduped! I don't think I read anything like this in the forum. Mine is working perfectly. I think you could run vsuper in a console, take note of any error message and post it here. Vsuper is in charge of the password prompt for running an app with root privileges. For example 'vsuper terminal' should ask for your root password and leaves you in a virtual console logged as root.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
jduped
Vectorite
***
Posts: 127


Don't Worry, Be Happy


« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2008, 07:44:56 pm »

Code:
$ vsuper terminal
/usr/bin/terminal
kdesu: error while loading shared libraries: libkio.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
data:/~

$ vsuper thunar
/usr/bin/thunar
kdesu: error while loading shared libraries: libkio.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
data:/~

Thats what its giving me... it works in root, though I can't open the gslapt icon...signed in as my user I can't open anything that is prompted for a root password...this is an issue for obvious reasons, a simple fix? or burn a new copy and reinstall?
Logged

Ask Yourself

uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2008, 08:03:10 pm »

a simple "slapt-get --install kdelibs --reinstall" should fix it
but it should have been installed. the package is on the ISO
Logged
jduped
Vectorite
***
Posts: 127


Don't Worry, Be Happy


« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2008, 09:40:20 pm »

I'll have to try it out tomorrow...in my first week of school Tongue  Saving up all my linux stuff for the weekend.

Could this be a bad disk? I didn't check it prior to install, I got my new video card, so I'll be reinstalling my primary desktop.
Logged

Ask Yourself

newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2008, 10:23:25 am »

IIRC, during the install of 5.9 STD you're given the _option_ of installing kdelibs.  Did you happen to unselect this option during install?
Logged
jduped
Vectorite
***
Posts: 127


Don't Worry, Be Happy


« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2008, 06:18:51 pm »

unless by default it is unchecked in this version I don't recall doing it.

I have KDE libs installed...

Code:
root:# slapt-get --install kdelibs --update
Retrieving package data [http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/packages/]...Failed to download: Timeout was reached
Retrieving package data [http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/extra/]...Failed to download: Timeout was reached
Sources failed to download, correct sources and rerun --update
when I try to reinstall I get this

Code:
root:# slapt-get --install kdelibs --update
Retrieving package data [http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/packages/]...Failed to download: Timeout was reached
Retrieving package data [http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/extra/]...Failed to download: Timeout was reached
Sources failed to download, correct sources and rerun --update
Logged

Ask Yourself

rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2283


« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2008, 06:35:16 pm »

It is slapt-get --install kdelibs --reinstall, not --update Smiley
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
jduped
Vectorite
***
Posts: 127


Don't Worry, Be Happy


« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2008, 06:41:31 pm »

sorry didn't mean to double post there...I tried a few things.

This is what I meant to post...

Code:
root:# slapt-get --search kdelibs         
Failed to open package_data
package_data: No such file or directory
Perhaps you want to run --update?
k3b-1.0.3-i586-1vl59 [inst=yes]: RED: acl >= 2.2.39_1-i486-2

Code:
root:# slapt-get --install kdelibs --install 
Reading Package Lists... Failed to open package_data
package_data: No such file or directory
Perhaps you want to run --update?

Code:
root:# slapt-get --install kdelibs --reinstall
Reading Package Lists... Failed to open package_data
package_data: No such file or directory
Perhaps you want to run --update?

Code:
root:# slapt-get --update                 
Retrieving package data [http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/packages/]...Failed to download: Timeout was reached
Retrieving package data [http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/extra/]...Failed to download: Timeout was reached
Sources failed to download, correct sources and rerun --update

« Last Edit: January 11, 2008, 06:43:22 pm by jduped » Logged

Ask Yourself

nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2008, 06:55:34 pm »

Quote
root:# slapt-get --update                 
Retrieving package data [http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/packages/]...Failed to download: Timeout was reached
Retrieving package data [http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/extra/]...Failed to download: Timeout was reached
Sources failed to download, correct sources and rerun --update

Doesn't look like it's reaching the repo. This box is connected to the Internet?
Logged
jduped
Vectorite
***
Posts: 127


Don't Worry, Be Happy


« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2008, 09:19:20 am »

Yep, I was posting from that box...
Logged

Ask Yourself

jduped
Vectorite
***
Posts: 127


Don't Worry, Be Happy


« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2008, 09:20:42 am »

I have repeated the same steps and got the same issues on a second box...
Logged

Ask Yourself

uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2008, 01:07:00 pm »

I have a router that i get timeouts with slapt-get when i use it.
I have to manually change the /ext/resolv.conf file from 
Code:
# Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth0
search domain.actdsltmp
nameserver 192.168.0.1
nameserver 205.171.3.65
to
Code:
# Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth0
nameserver 205.171.3.65
search domain.actdsltmp
nameserver 192.168.0.1
and then it works fine
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!