VectorLinux
July 29, 2014, 08:49:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: resolution settings  (Read 3639 times)
thorro
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: January 12, 2008, 02:03:45 am »

Not sure where is should put this one.
I bought and installed 5.9 Deluxe Gold.
The install worked fine, accept for choice of resolution my 22" that use 1680*1050.
I only edited xorg.conf to get it to work.
Is it possible to include it. It's not a big deal for me ,but a newbie might have a problem.

Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2008, 03:13:22 am »

I remember that happening to me with previous versions of VL, with a 1440x900 monitor. That resolution is now there.
It might take its time, but the trend is for more and more resolution settings to be added to the installer.
There is a message there about editing xorg.conf for additional settings, such as the refresh rate. Maybe there should also be a message in that screen that told users to edit xorg.conf if their resolution isn't available to be picked.
Logged
Sivatheja
Vectorite
***
Posts: 156



WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2008, 09:22:58 pm »

I remember that happening to me with previous versions of VL, with a 1440x900 monitor.
How did you resolve it  then?

Maybe there should also be a message in that screen that told users to edit xorg.conf if their resolution isn't available to be picked.
Yes that would be very helpful.
Logged

Full Linux Machine - Vector Linux 5.9 STD Gold, Intel - 1.79 GHz, 1Gb RAM, 60GB HDD
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2008, 01:21:35 pm »

Quote
How did you resolve it  then?

I added it at the end of /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Logged
Sivatheja
Vectorite
***
Posts: 156



WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2008, 01:44:11 pm »

can you post your file? I've tried it but am missing something!
Logged

Full Linux Machine - Vector Linux 5.9 STD Gold, Intel - 1.79 GHz, 1Gb RAM, 60GB HDD
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2008, 01:58:05 pm »

Sure. Here it is.
What is your monitor resolution?

Code:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device     "Card0"
Monitor    "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
Modes "1440x900" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!