VectorLinux
October 22, 2014, 07:20:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [resolved] Putting KDE onto 5.9 STD from the 5.8 SOHO Edition  (Read 1497 times)
MoonSwan
Guest
« on: January 13, 2008, 02:19:19 pm »

My topic says it all, but I'll expand a little in the hope that some kind soul can shed some light on my possible route to success.

I downloaded both the 5.8 SOHO edition & the newer 5.9 Standard editions of this distro.  I've decided that XFCE doesn't suit me well but KDE seems to do what I want and I'm familiar enough with linux I know how to do most things that I need to have done.  I can edit config files and read info pages to hack my system into whatever I need it to do (generally speaking anyway, I'm hardly a guru).

However, being new to Vector itself I thought I'd find out if its worth trying to take the packages off the SOHO disc and use them on a system running 5.9 Standard.  Specifically, I wanted to avoid having to download 200mb or so of packages from the repo's just to get KDE onto a standard 5.9 installation, when I have a cd sitting here with (presumably) packages I can install just as easily.  I'd hazard a guess that even if this were successful, I may have to update KDE from the repos to plug security holes or bug fixes, which isn't a big deal but is going to consist of less downloading time than getting all of it to install in the first place.

I hope this is clear enough of what it is I wish to do.  If not then I'll repost and try to unmuddy the waters.

Thank you
MS
« Last Edit: January 14, 2008, 01:38:27 am by MoonSwan » Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2008, 02:33:05 pm »

Actually, the packages on (for) 5.8 will not work on 5.9.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2008, 03:49:29 pm »

I guess the only possibility is installing KDE from the repos. Maybe KDE is on the Deluxe CD, but then again you would have to download the whole image as well (besides paying for it).
Logged
MoonSwan
Guest
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2008, 01:39:31 am »

Thank you for the replies.  I wondered if this might be impossible due to newer libs/tool-chains being changed or other issues.

MS
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2008, 02:19:48 am »

Quote
I wondered if this might be impossible due to newer libs/tool-chains being changed or other issues.

Both 5.8 SOHO and standard were built on slackware 11. 5.9 Standard was built on Slackware 12. Slackware 12 has a much newer toolchain.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2008, 05:48:01 am by The Headacher » Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
tomh38
Vectorian
****
Posts: 913



« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2008, 05:44:39 am »

Vector Linux 5.9 Deluxe does include KDE 3.5.8, along with a lot of other nice things.  It's well worth the small price and the download time.
Logged

"I'm doing a (free) operating system (just a hobby, won't be big and professional like gnu) for 386(486) AT clones." - Linus Torvalds, April 1991
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!