VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 03:19:00 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Where to download 4.0 SOHO  (Read 3962 times)
arlener
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: January 17, 2008, 05:37:39 pm »

I can't find how to download Vector Linux 4.0 SOHO and is this the best version for me.
I have a 433 Mhz Dell with 127 mg RAM and lots of harddisk space.
I want to install to my harddisk and I don't care about running live CD.
I'm on dial-up so a smaller download would be good.
Should I try 3.2 SOHO?
I will want to use OpenOffice 2.0 but I assume I can add that later.
Logged
arlener
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2008, 06:07:09 pm »

Isn't there a smaller version I can download that will run on my system?
Logged
JohnB316
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1346


Registered Linux User #386728


« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2008, 07:32:42 pm »

Arlener,

Our older versions (5.1 and older) are in the "attic" of our repositories. Here is a link to the main VL repo's attic: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/attic/. Keep in mind that if you want to use an older version of VL, you're pretty much on your own, because we are no longer actively supporting those versions that are in the attic.

If you need support, you might want to try using VL 5.9 standard and use either jwm or fluxbox as your window manager rather than xfce. That's just my opinion, for what it's worth.

HTH a bit,
John
Logged

VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.
arlener
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2008, 08:06:59 pm »

I don't think version 5 will run on my computer. Please correct me if I am wrong.

I think version 5 requires Pentium II and my Dell is Pentium I.
I have a 433 Mhz Dell with 127 mg RAM and lots of harddisk space.
I want to install to my harddisk and I don't care about running live CD.
If you think it will run on my system, that certainly would be the smart thing for me to do.

I did find the attic where the older versions are now.

I guess right now just figuring out which version is a challenge, because of my older computer.
Logged
JohnB316
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1346


Registered Linux User #386728


« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2008, 08:16:51 pm »

Which model of Dell do you have? It seems to me that a 433 MHz processor would be a Pentium II class processor.

John
Logged

VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2008, 09:00:50 pm »

IIRC, P1 was only up to the DX4 166MHz.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2008, 10:33:05 pm »

IIRC, P1 was only up to the DX4 166MHz.

It went higher than that. I think maybe up to 233 MHz. DX4 was in the 486 series, wasn't it?

That said, I'm pretty sure a 433 MHz CPU would be a PII.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2008, 12:41:06 am »

Apparently, there was even a 300 MHz p1 (but not a 433 one): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium#Models .
Since p3 starts at 450 MHz this should be a p2. If you'd like to find out what Linux thinks your cpu is, try "uname -p".

No matter what sort of pentium it may be, you might want to reconsider using openoffice. It's big and slow, and needs a lot of memory. Using it on a computer with specs that low will probably be painful at best. I think (no guarantees) that 5.9 will run on it, if you stay away from xfce and big resource users like firefox/seamonkey.

Quote
DX4 was in the 486 series, wasn't it?
yes it was, and it only went up to 100 MHz. I still have one of those.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
arlener
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2008, 09:36:53 am »

I don't have linux to run "uname -p"

I have a 433 Mhz Dell Celeron/MMX, with 127 mg RAM (128 but I think 1 is used by PCI modem card or video card). That's what shows on Norton's Checkit Diagnostics.
I have 40 GB hardisk space with less that 5 Gb used by Windows 98 SE that I am running now. The person I bought it from said it is a Pentium I but the 433 Mhz makes it faster, about Penitum 1.5.
I want to install to my harddisk, dual boot, and I don't care about running live CD.
I need to run OpenOffice 2.0 so I am compatible with Word and Excel through email with the rest of the world.
I find it a little bit hard to believe that I will have any trouble running OpenOffice under Linux if I'm running Microsoft Office under Windows 98 SE. That's slow but can OpenOffice be worse than that?

That's where I want to get to but which version of which Linux will do it for me?
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2008, 10:07:28 am »

get 5.9: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/iso-release/VL5.9-STD-Gold.iso

Open office is in our repo
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/extra/x-apps/openoffice.org-2.3.1_en_US-i586-1vl59.tlz

It will work on that system I have ran it on less.
Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2008, 10:49:36 am »

IIRC, P1 was only up to the DX4 166MHz.

It went higher than that. I think maybe up to 233 MHz. DX4 was in the 486 series, wasn't it?

That said, I'm pretty sure a 433 MHz CPU would be a PII.
--GrannyGeek
Oops, thank you Granny, you're quite right of course. My memory must have been slipping right about the time I posted, lol. It was my birthday and I had drunk a few rums by then... Grin
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2008, 12:10:13 pm »

HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, JOE!
Logged
arlener
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2008, 01:36:11 pm »

It will take about 40 hours to download by dial-up. I'll have to leave it run over the weekend.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2008, 01:47:03 pm »

I know it's a bit premature, but maybe your system is a good candidate for the upcoming VL-Light (under half the size to download).  It can be found here from this post: http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5302.msg36485#msg36485
Version A1.3 (alpha) is the latest ATM
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2288


« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2008, 02:10:13 pm »

Hi arlener, broadband is something new in my life, I was in dial up almost my hole life. What I used to do is to ask to the owner of a local internet cafe if he could download the vl iso for me and burn it in a cd. He charged me with a few bucks, lot cheaper than the phone bill Smiley
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!