VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: temp and slave  (Read 2336 times)

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1455
temp and slave
« on: January 21, 2008, 02:10:51 pm »

Hi
I managed to add a small slave drive to the primary ide cable./dev/hdb
I was able to mount the drive fdisk, delete existing partition and create a single partition, hdb1, which is now mount/umountable from root.
Is it possible to link and chown this partition to home or use it as temp space.
I am getting low on drive space with my minimal config.so adding a gig would help. temp lists as 330 meg which is the remaining drive space.
thanks
Logged
Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4457
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2008, 06:47:10 am »

In a terminal, as root:
vasm > filesystem > mount >.... Select your partition and mount point.
Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1455
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 12:29:05 pm »

Thanks nightflier..Am I misunderstanding?
When I installed the slave I went to vasm and added it.

When I boot, hdb1 is auto mounted and I can read write from root and read from user. I was wanting to give write access to a directory on hdb1 to user.


 so question is- how do I give user write permission to a directory on slave hdb1.

 I'm thinking- chown something(/home/<username>?) /mnt/hdb1/<directory>
Logged
Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4457
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 01:14:56 pm »

chown -R username:username /mnt/hdb1/<dir>
This will give username ownership of the directory and everything in it.
Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1455
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2008, 02:50:19 pm »

Thanks...That allows me to write to the dir as user.
Now
Can a link be made so the dir appears in user.
Logged
Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4457
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2008, 05:51:23 pm »

Yep, that can be done. In a terminal, as your regular user:
cd ~
ln -s /mnt/hdb1/<dir> <some_name>

Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1455
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2008, 02:12:22 am »

Thanks very much...this seems to be working fine...I really appreciate it

If your still on fire..how would I reverse these two commands should it be nessessary..

Logged
Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4457
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2008, 05:31:07 am »

Happy to be of help.  :)
~ is a shortcut to your home dir. The command cd ~ was only to ensure that you were there.
To undo the other one, just remove the symbolic link you made:
rm <some_name>
Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1455
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2008, 12:31:27 pm »

Thanks...I now have a writeable storage folder showing in user and a temp folder for k3b not showing but writeable, both on the slave.
much appreciated
Logged
Everything Is Relative