Author Topic: temp and slave  (Read 2474 times)

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1458
temp and slave
« on: January 21, 2008, 02:10:51 pm »
Hi
I managed to add a small slave drive to the primary ide cable./dev/hdb
I was able to mount the drive fdisk, delete existing partition and create a single partition, hdb1, which is now mount/umountable from root.
Is it possible to link and chown this partition to home or use it as temp space.
I am getting low on drive space with my minimal config.so adding a gig would help. temp lists as 330 meg which is the remaining drive space.
thanks
Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4459
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2008, 06:47:10 am »
In a terminal, as root:
vasm > filesystem > mount >.... Select your partition and mount point.

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 12:29:05 pm »
Thanks nightflier..Am I misunderstanding?
When I installed the slave I went to vasm and added it.

When I boot, hdb1 is auto mounted and I can read write from root and read from user. I was wanting to give write access to a directory on hdb1 to user.


 so question is- how do I give user write permission to a directory on slave hdb1.

 I'm thinking- chown something(/home/<username>?) /mnt/hdb1/<directory>
Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4459
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 01:14:56 pm »
chown -R username:username /mnt/hdb1/<dir>
This will give username ownership of the directory and everything in it.

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2008, 02:50:19 pm »
Thanks...That allows me to write to the dir as user.
Now
Can a link be made so the dir appears in user.
Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4459
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2008, 05:51:23 pm »
Yep, that can be done. In a terminal, as your regular user:
cd ~
ln -s /mnt/hdb1/<dir> <some_name>


overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2008, 02:12:22 am »
Thanks very much...this seems to be working fine...I really appreciate it

If your still on fire..how would I reverse these two commands should it be nessessary..

Everything Is Relative

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4459
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2008, 05:31:07 am »
Happy to be of help.  :)
~ is a shortcut to your home dir. The command cd ~ was only to ensure that you were there.
To undo the other one, just remove the symbolic link you made:
rm <some_name>

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: temp and slave
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2008, 12:31:27 pm »
Thanks...I now have a writeable storage folder showing in user and a temp folder for k3b not showing but writeable, both on the slave.
much appreciated
Everything Is Relative