VectorLinux
April 16, 2014, 02:25:15 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: errormessage  (Read 1676 times)
ghartl1
Vectorite
***
Posts: 379


« on: January 25, 2008, 07:08:03 pm »

hi,

i use soho 5.8 and after a while of surfing with ff (2.0.11) igot this errormessage below.wanted to check my nics via ifconfig ...

ich:$ su root
Kennwort:
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 key
xmodmap:  unable to open display ':0.0'
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 key
xhost:  unable to open display ":0.0"
antichrist://home/ich
root:#       

the weird thing is nevertheless i am in root mode...
but it doesnt know root commands
ifconfig..alsaconf...nothing?

what does the errormessage mean?

so i did a rootkitcheck..downloaded the latest tarball and executed..
there was a line there too...

Checking `crontab'... Warning: crontab for nobody found, possible Lupper.Worm..

so i checked for conspicious files in tmp..nothing there.

greets g√ľnter           
« Last Edit: January 25, 2008, 07:39:08 pm by ghartl1 » Logged
ghartl1
Vectorite
***
Posts: 379


« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2008, 08:39:38 pm »

so ..at least the errormessage vanished..till the next reboot :-(..then the same errormessage i there again.

i followed this link ..

http://www.linuxsa.org.au/pipermail/linuxsa/2000-May/014904.html

after xauth add....the errormessage vanished..

but my rootcommands dont work...ifconfig..alsaconf..no such command
it only works in a shell (strg+alt+f2)...but not in kde(konsole)

any ideas
« Last Edit: January 25, 2008, 08:44:40 pm by ghartl1 » Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2265


« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2008, 09:49:49 pm »

Can you run them with the full path? For example /sbin/ifconfig
Check echo $PATH
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
ghartl1
Vectorite
***
Posts: 379


« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2008, 11:40:47 am »

ich:$ echo $PATH
/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/lib/java/bin:/usr/lib/java/jre/bin:/opt/kde/bin:/usr/lib/qt/bin:.

/sbin/ifconfig..works..but why
beforehand it worked too?
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2265


« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2008, 11:45:59 am »

That is as user, try as root.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
ghartl1
Vectorite
***
Posts: 379


« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2008, 12:25:00 pm »

root:# echo $PATH
/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/kde/bin:/usr/X11/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/lib/java/bin:/usr/lib/java/jre/bin:/opt/kde/bin:/usr/lib/qt/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin

now the commands are in the path varible...
to put it in a nutshell..i played a image to the root partition...

all seems okay
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!