VectorLinux
July 27, 2014, 10:02:37 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Unbearable router annoyance  (Read 2224 times)
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« on: January 29, 2008, 07:41:15 am »

I recently moved and had to change my DSL account to a new location. When I did, I figured, I'd close out my existing account and open up a new one under a new (lower) price agreement with the provider.... That part went well.

In the old account, I used to have a DSL Modem, and used the box or a router to handle pppoe config and activity.

I own a D-Link DI-524, so I configured it to handle the PPPoE and I plugged the box into it, or use it's nice wireless fetaures.... worked like a charm... no complaints there

In the new account, they gave me a new modem that kinda acts like a router itself. The modem itself handles the pppoe config and activity, and ini the computer you just plug in as a regular LAN.... That's all well and good, except for one thing


Ever since this change took place, I'm unable to connect to IRC networks.
I have configured the D-Link router to NOT handle PPPoe anymore, and simply connect as if it were a regular LAN connection... and I can browse the web just fine... download stuff, everything.. except IRC or gnutella networks.

Has anyone ran into this problem before?
Can anyone think of any possible solutions to this?


Logged

bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1843


« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2008, 10:14:44 am »

I have not run into this problem.

There are ISP'S who are now blocking ports
in order to save bandwidth.

Your new lower price maybe due to the above.

It is possible to try traceroute. The other thing
would be to check with your provider, with the
obvious neglecting to mention Linux.

I am sure there are ways to change the ports
if the originals are blocked.

Bigpaws
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2008, 10:29:23 am »

I know the ports are not blocked... If I do a master reset on the router, it works fine for a couple of hours...
Logged

newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2008, 11:10:35 am »

Maybe you need to explicitly forward some ports to your computer via the D-Link router Huh  Might be worth a shot to see if you can overcome that few-hour limitation.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2008, 04:50:54 am »

Well, if I understand this correctly, the port forwarding on the router affects connections coming into my box (ssh, vnc, telnet, ftp, www and the like)

Since I'm trying to connect to another box (IRC server) then the port forwarding thing doesn't do much for me on this (because this is an outgoing connection).
If anyone knows any reason to believe differently, please inform me.... I'm no networking wiz, but i'm always open to learning Wink

As a test, I replaced my DSL Modem with an older one that I used to have in the old service location, (reverting to my exact same old setup)....
Still having the same problem.

Keep them answers coming!
Logged

rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2276


« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2008, 05:03:40 am »

That is weird, I have to opposite problem sometimes. Sometimes I can't surf the web but I can use IRC and p2p just fine. I think the dns server goes down and those uses direct ip address instead resolved host names. Perhaps you can use nmap to test the ports, and you could try to ping the irc servers and such and see what you get. May be some protocol filters gets activated, that would explain why you can use tcp/ip connections but not others.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1843


« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2008, 05:15:28 am »

Google is the greatest!

It appears to be a problem with the router DNS.

One of the fixes is to add your ISP DNS server to
/etc/resolv.conf as well as your router.

At least that is what I have found.

Google:

D-Link IRC network stops

Bigpaws
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2276


« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2008, 05:21:09 am »

That solved my problem, disabling auto dns in the router was enough.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2008, 06:38:33 am »

see that's the weirdest part... I can ping the irc networks... I can connect to freenode and I get to see the nice MOTD, but I can't join any channels...
It's weird
Logged

M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2008, 01:42:51 pm »

After some more research, it turns out that I can connect and chat in other networks just fine...
This problem still persists but it's only when I connect to freenode.

If anyone has ever heard of such a thing... Please suggest something....
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!