Please support VectorLinux!

Poll

What computer do you use with graphical interface?

Very slow (below 300MHz)
Slow (300-800MHz)
Moderate (800-1200MHz)
Fast (1200-2000MHz)
Very fast (above 2GHz)

Author Topic: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?  (Read 11572 times)

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2008, 05:23:42 am »
My Network includes at least one
of each category, except slow.

The defined "slow" machines are firewalls
and other types of servers.

Bigpaws

Freston

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2008, 03:36:30 am »
I've got a 2.0 dual core, so I voted fast, although one might argue that 2x2.0 is different from a 1x2.0Ghz.

Anyway, I'm of the mind that a fast machine needs a fast OS. I mean, nobody buys a Porsche to pull a heavy trailer now do they?  :P

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2008, 08:17:52 am »
Quote
nobody buys a Porsche to pull a heavy trailer now do they?
Guess again:






Or, if you can't choose which Porsche you want to take today:
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

Freston

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2008, 01:52:59 am »
Yeah I know... I see a lot of Porsche Cayenne's in these parts. It irritates me. I feel people need to make decisions, either you drive an off the road vehicle, or you drive a sports car. If you want to have something that is both, you'll end up with a device that is neither...


BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2008, 04:41:24 am »
THANK YOU!!  I'm not the only one who finds those things to be hideous monstrosities of poor design, low imagination and a belief that customers will shut up and pay when SURELY their common sense tells them they're driving a death trap!  Gods those things make me want to puke a fat one!

It is PRECISELY because of that model (and BMWs X5 and whatever the hells Mercedes is offering smiliar) that I have boycotted Porsche, BMW and Mercedes.  I will not buy a car from them.  Ever.

These damn things are deathtraps waiting to happen - take a corner as though you're in a sports car, SHIT sorry skippy, you're top-heavy and you ROLLED it!  Too bad about your kids, eh?  They were in the back y'know, that part that's now crushed.

Yeah, I get a tad worked up over this.
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

tncanuck

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2008, 03:39:51 pm »
My main machine: Slow (300-800MHz) Athlon 650MHz, 320Mb RAM, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard Gold exclusively. I did put Vector on my *fastest* computer, not sure what sivatheja meant by the reference to AMD. I think this thing will fly compared to what it will do under MS-Win. Open Office starts faster than with my wife's Celeron 2.66GHz running XP.

My Frankenstein machine: Very slow (below 300MHz) Pentium 133MHz, 128Mb RAM running DSL. It will play MP3s while I read the news online. Is this a candidate for VL Light? I would like to know, and it would need a boot floppy.

What is a "quad-core"? Any duct tape involved?...Just kidding :)

tncanuck

VL 6.0 Deluxe on Pentium III 866MHz, 512Mb RAM, nvidia GeForce2 GTS 32Mb AGP card, Creative Sound Blaster Live!

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2008, 04:24:56 pm »
The duct-tape would make it more hardcore :D  But no.  The quad-core in question be this and I must say, it works a treat.
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

webmouse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • Red Door Transcendence
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2008, 12:10:34 am »
My main machine is a HP Pavilion dv6000, AMD Sepron 3400+, 1 GB mem, 128 mb nVidia 6150. VL 5.9 STD fits perfectly, snappy, fast.
I use it mainly for internet/mail/programming and artwork (and 3D modelling with Art Of Illusion).
For testing on old hardware I have a little :) Dell CPi running at 266 Mhz with 64 MB ram.
My previous laptop, a Dell D505, 1.2 GHz, 512 MB mem, went to my oldest doughter, running Sabayon 3.4e.
And there is a Win XP machine a Compaq Armada E700, 900 Mhz and 512 MB, mainly used by my wife for Might And Magic and internet etc.
NetBook: VL7 Light

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #23 on: March 23, 2008, 04:52:05 am »
My main system is a Gateway 1.2 GHZ 1gig Ram
other machines include  Dell 1.2 Ghz 384 MB ram
mongrel -- 950MHZ AMD  512 MB Ram
old Toshiba Sattile Laptop 600 MHZ 384 MB Ram
Use Vector with good sucess on all of them.

 :)
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

Tommy599

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 61
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2008, 11:30:27 am »
My main system: 2.66 GHz Intel, 160GB, 1GB with XP pro SP3
My secondary system I use for Unix-related homework:
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 500Mhz, 20GB, 128MB -VL light B2 as main configured os, VL light RC1 and DSL as trials.
 In the summer I'll move  on to RC1 or 2 whatever will be the newest VL light then. I love configuring it, doing things manually but I rarely have the time. (and I have lots of configuring to do, etc. make the lid button shutdown the machine cause I'm lazy to do it by hand, customize everything I can and so on :P)

p.s.: the Cayenne thing, it really dilluted the Porsche brand but it also brought it a huge amount of money for Porsche. It's thinking about buying WV, it would have done so long ago if it wasn't for the german authorities nosing in...


« Last Edit: May 25, 2008, 11:34:42 am by Tommy599 »
Vector Linux 6.0 Light Final
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 @ 500Mhz/128MB/20GB
Registered Linux user #470287
t599.mybrute.com <- can you defeat me?