VectorLinux
April 24, 2014, 12:34:20 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Poll
Question: What computer do you use with graphical interface?
Very slow (below 300MHz)
Slow (300-800MHz)
Moderate (800-1200MHz)
Fast (1200-2000MHz)
Very fast (above 2GHz)

Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?  (Read 10188 times)
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1834


« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2008, 05:23:42 am »

My Network includes at least one
of each category, except slow.

The defined "slow" machines are firewalls
and other types of servers.

Bigpaws
Logged
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2008, 03:36:30 am »

I've got a 2.0 dual core, so I voted fast, although one might argue that 2x2.0 is different from a 1x2.0Ghz.

Anyway, I'm of the mind that a fast machine needs a fast OS. I mean, nobody buys a Porsche to pull a heavy trailer now do they?  Tongue
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1545


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2008, 08:17:52 am »

Quote
nobody buys a Porsche to pull a heavy trailer now do they?
Guess again:






Or, if you can't choose which Porsche you want to take today:
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2008, 01:52:59 am »

Yeah I know... I see a lot of Porsche Cayenne's in these parts. It irritates me. I feel people need to make decisions, either you drive an off the road vehicle, or you drive a sports car. If you want to have something that is both, you'll end up with a device that is neither...

Logged
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2008, 04:41:24 am »

THANK YOU!!  I'm not the only one who finds those things to be hideous monstrosities of poor design, low imagination and a belief that customers will shut up and pay when SURELY their common sense tells them they're driving a death trap!  Gods those things make me want to puke a fat one!

It is PRECISELY because of that model (and BMWs X5 and whatever the hells Mercedes is offering smiliar) that I have boycotted Porsche, BMW and Mercedes.  I will not buy a car from them.  Ever.

These damn things are deathtraps waiting to happen - take a corner as though you're in a sports car, SHIT sorry skippy, you're top-heavy and you ROLLED it!  Too bad about your kids, eh?  They were in the back y'know, that part that's now crushed.

Yeah, I get a tad worked up over this.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
tncanuck
Member
*
Posts: 36


« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2008, 03:39:51 pm »

My main machine: Slow (300-800MHz) Athlon 650MHz, 320Mb RAM, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard Gold exclusively. I did put Vector on my *fastest* computer, not sure what sivatheja meant by the reference to AMD. I think this thing will fly compared to what it will do under MS-Win. Open Office starts faster than with my wife's Celeron 2.66GHz running XP.

My Frankenstein machine: Very slow (below 300MHz) Pentium 133MHz, 128Mb RAM running DSL. It will play MP3s while I read the news online. Is this a candidate for VL Light? I would like to know, and it would need a boot floppy.

What is a "quad-core"? Any duct tape involved?...Just kidding Smiley

tncanuck

Logged

VL 6.0 Deluxe on Pentium III 866MHz, 512Mb RAM, nvidia GeForce2 GTS 32Mb AGP card, Creative Sound Blaster Live!
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2008, 04:24:56 pm »

The duct-tape would make it more hardcore Cheesy  But no.  The quad-core in question be this and I must say, it works a treat.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
webmouse
Member
*
Posts: 41


WWW
« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2008, 12:10:34 am »

My main machine is a HP Pavilion dv6000, AMD Sepron 3400+, 1 GB mem, 128 mb nVidia 6150. VL 5.9 STD fits perfectly, snappy, fast.
I use it mainly for internet/mail/programming and artwork (and 3D modelling with Art Of Illusion).
For testing on old hardware I have a little Smiley Dell CPi running at 266 Mhz with 64 MB ram.
My previous laptop, a Dell D505, 1.2 GHz, 512 MB mem, went to my oldest doughter, running Sabayon 3.4e.
And there is a Win XP machine a Compaq Armada E700, 900 Mhz and 512 MB, mainly used by my wife for Might And Magic and internet etc.
Logged

NetBook: VL7 Light
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #23 on: March 23, 2008, 04:52:05 am »

My main system is a Gateway 1.2 GHZ 1gig Ram
other machines include  Dell 1.2 Ghz 384 MB ram
mongrel -- 950MHZ AMD  512 MB Ram
old Toshiba Sattile Laptop 600 MHZ 384 MB Ram
Use Vector with good sucess on all of them.

 Smiley
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
Tommy599
Member
*
Posts: 61



« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2008, 11:30:27 am »

My main system: 2.66 GHz Intel, 160GB, 1GB with XP pro SP3
My secondary system I use for Unix-related homework:
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 500Mhz, 20GB, 128MB -VL light B2 as main configured os, VL light RC1 and DSL as trials.
 In the summer I'll move  on to RC1 or 2 whatever will be the newest VL light then. I love configuring it, doing things manually but I rarely have the time. (and I have lots of configuring to do, etc. make the lid button shutdown the machine cause I'm lazy to do it by hand, customize everything I can and so on Tongue)

p.s.: the Cayenne thing, it really dilluted the Porsche brand but it also brought it a huge amount of money for Porsche. It's thinking about buying WV, it would have done so long ago if it wasn't for the german authorities nosing in...


« Last Edit: May 25, 2008, 11:34:42 am by Tommy599 » Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light Final
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 @ 500Mhz/128MB/20GB
Registered Linux user #470287
t599.mybrute.com <- can you defeat me?
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!