VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Poll

What computer do you use with graphical interface?

Very slow (below 300MHz)
Slow (300-800MHz)
Moderate (800-1200MHz)
Fast (1200-2000MHz)
Very fast (above 2GHz)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?  (Read 11863 times)

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2008, 05:23:42 am »

My Network includes at least one
of each category, except slow.

The defined "slow" machines are firewalls
and other types of servers.

Bigpaws
Logged

Freston

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2008, 03:36:30 am »

I've got a 2.0 dual core, so I voted fast, although one might argue that 2x2.0 is different from a 1x2.0Ghz.

Anyway, I'm of the mind that a fast machine needs a fast OS. I mean, nobody buys a Porsche to pull a heavy trailer now do they?  :P
Logged

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2008, 08:17:52 am »

Quote
nobody buys a Porsche to pull a heavy trailer now do they?
Guess again:






Or, if you can't choose which Porsche you want to take today:
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

Freston

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2008, 01:52:59 am »

Yeah I know... I see a lot of Porsche Cayenne's in these parts. It irritates me. I feel people need to make decisions, either you drive an off the road vehicle, or you drive a sports car. If you want to have something that is both, you'll end up with a device that is neither...

Logged

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2008, 04:41:24 am »

THANK YOU!!  I'm not the only one who finds those things to be hideous monstrosities of poor design, low imagination and a belief that customers will shut up and pay when SURELY their common sense tells them they're driving a death trap!  Gods those things make me want to puke a fat one!

It is PRECISELY because of that model (and BMWs X5 and whatever the hells Mercedes is offering smiliar) that I have boycotted Porsche, BMW and Mercedes.  I will not buy a car from them.  Ever.

These damn things are deathtraps waiting to happen - take a corner as though you're in a sports car, SHIT sorry skippy, you're top-heavy and you ROLLED it!  Too bad about your kids, eh?  They were in the back y'know, that part that's now crushed.

Yeah, I get a tad worked up over this.
Logged
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

tncanuck

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2008, 03:39:51 pm »

My main machine: Slow (300-800MHz) Athlon 650MHz, 320Mb RAM, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard Gold exclusively. I did put Vector on my *fastest* computer, not sure what sivatheja meant by the reference to AMD. I think this thing will fly compared to what it will do under MS-Win. Open Office starts faster than with my wife's Celeron 2.66GHz running XP.

My Frankenstein machine: Very slow (below 300MHz) Pentium 133MHz, 128Mb RAM running DSL. It will play MP3s while I read the news online. Is this a candidate for VL Light? I would like to know, and it would need a boot floppy.

What is a "quad-core"? Any duct tape involved?...Just kidding :)

tncanuck

Logged
VL 6.0 Deluxe on Pentium III 866MHz, 512Mb RAM, nvidia GeForce2 GTS 32Mb AGP card, Creative Sound Blaster Live!

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2008, 04:24:56 pm »

The duct-tape would make it more hardcore :D  But no.  The quad-core in question be this and I must say, it works a treat.
Logged
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

SmartDuck

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • RedDoorTranscendence
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2008, 01:10:34 am »

My main machine is a HP Pavilion dv6000, AMD Sepron 3400+, 1 GB mem, 128 mb nVidia 6150. VL 5.9 STD fits perfectly, snappy, fast.
I use it mainly for internet/mail/programming and artwork (and 3D modelling with Art Of Illusion).
For testing on old hardware I have a little :) Dell CPi running at 266 Mhz with 64 MB ram.
My previous laptop, a Dell D505, 1.2 GHz, 512 MB mem, went to my oldest doughter, running Sabayon 3.4e.
And there is a Win XP machine a Compaq Armada E700, 900 Mhz and 512 MB, mainly used by my wife for Might And Magic and internet etc.
Logged
Dell Lattitude E4300 - Vector Linux 7.1 STD - daily workstation
Dell Lattitude D505 - TinyCore 6.2 - MineCraft server
Raspberry Pi B+ - OpenElec - Multimedia server
Raspberry Pi A+ - Raspbian Weezy - Green house server

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #23 on: March 23, 2008, 05:52:05 am »

My main system is a Gateway 1.2 GHZ 1gig Ram
other machines include  Dell 1.2 Ghz 384 MB ram
mongrel -- 950MHZ AMD  512 MB Ram
old Toshiba Sattile Laptop 600 MHZ 384 MB Ram
Use Vector with good sucess on all of them.

 :)
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

Tommy599

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 61
Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2008, 12:30:27 pm »

My main system: 2.66 GHz Intel, 160GB, 1GB with XP pro SP3
My secondary system I use for Unix-related homework:
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 500Mhz, 20GB, 128MB -VL light B2 as main configured os, VL light RC1 and DSL as trials.
 In the summer I'll move  on to RC1 or 2 whatever will be the newest VL light then. I love configuring it, doing things manually but I rarely have the time. (and I have lots of configuring to do, etc. make the lid button shutdown the machine cause I'm lazy to do it by hand, customize everything I can and so on :P)

p.s.: the Cayenne thing, it really dilluted the Porsche brand but it also brought it a huge amount of money for Porsche. It's thinking about buying WV, it would have done so long ago if it wasn't for the german authorities nosing in...


« Last Edit: May 25, 2008, 12:34:42 pm by Tommy599 »
Logged
Vector Linux 6.0 Light Final
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 @ 500Mhz/128MB/20GB
Registered Linux user #470287
t599.mybrute.com <- can you defeat me?
Pages: 1 [2]