VectorLinux
September 23, 2014, 02:09:59 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing VL on a Zepto  (Read 3855 times)
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« on: February 06, 2008, 07:49:40 am »

Today I've recieved my new *bling* lappy. A Zepto Znote without a pre-installed OS :-D

But I have some trouble setting it up with VL5.9 Deluxe :-(

Wireless
Of course wireless. I can get it to work using VASM perfectly, but I have to do this on every boot. Even though I select 'load on boot'. Anyone know a way to do this automagically?
/etc/rc.d/rc.wireless is executable, although I must confess I can't really get my mind to understand what is in /etc/rc.d/rc.wireless.conf (I'd post it but I have a feeling it's just a default with loads of examples)
Anyway, I was thinking. If I run >iwlist wlan0 scan< on it's own it lists _my_ wireless router last in a list of seven available (but secured) access points. Could it be that /etc/rc.d/rc.wireless (that uses the same command in it's >start< function ... eh no ... it probably doesn't work like that.
Oh by the way, if I use wifiradar to connect it says connected to {router} at {ip-adress} but I can't get to the Internet.


Compiz
Same. It works perfectly, both in KDE as in Xfce... just not on boot. Can't find the setting to enable auto load.

Sound
Doesn't work at all.
alsaconf recognized my card as a Intel Corporation 82801, alsamixer is set up, it's just no sound. Search around I added several different values to /etc/modprobe.conf, but none of them worked. It's just weird. Maybe I'm at it too long, but the device should be able to work. Any thoughts on where to look??
Logged
kukibl
Guest
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2008, 09:24:14 am »

About sound... Alsamixer shows values, right? Have you set proper device in XFCE's volume control applet? I have same sound card on my laptop and I just had to change device in volume control applet to get sound. If that is not working try commenting this line in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

Code:
blacklist snd-intel8x0m

Else, add next line to /etc/modprobe.d/sound

Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=auto

Hope it helps.

Logged
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2008, 10:31:20 am »

Thanks! But alas :-(

No sound is a bit of a pity, but neither of your suggestions did the trick. Not apart and not together... reboot reboot reboot :-s

I've been looking through the dmesg output, but non of it indicates some failure. It gets recognized, it has an IRQ, it has an adress...


Between events I did get my bluetooth up and my server up and running :-D
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2283


« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2008, 12:16:02 pm »

Hi Freston! You should post the output as root of lspci, and cat /proc/asound/modules. With that info surely some vectorian will be able to help you.

If you can connect to your wireless router from the command line, adding the same commands at the end of your /etc/rc.d/rc.local will do it.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2008, 01:01:00 pm »

Hi!

I was just playing with it :-D Not that it works, but assuming the sound device is /dev/dsp I thought let's just redirect output streams to it. That is supposed to give static noise. Just to rule out that it's not a GUI thingy, that would narrow the search. But it did nothing other then proofing how easily distracted I am  Wink


Anyway, these are the outputs:
Code:
lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Contoller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5906M Fast Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
0c:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN Network Connection (rev 61)
0e:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
0e:06.1 Generic system peripheral [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
0e:06.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd Unknown device 0843 (rev 12)
0e:06.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)

Code:
cat /proc/asound/modules
 0 snd_hda_intel

EDIT: Oh, I tried all of the above with both internal speakers and external ones... just to make sure it's not a speaker problem. Hm... i can't help feeling I'm overlooking something obvious. APM also fails during boot, could that be related??
« Last Edit: February 06, 2008, 01:03:53 pm by Freston » Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2283


« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2008, 01:48:36 pm »

There is a lot of troubles reported with that audio card Sad

Someone reported this option worked, may be you already found this:
Code:
options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=1 model=3stack

Also try some speakers instead the built-in ones.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2008, 02:17:13 pm »

Yep that one I tried... and variations on it like model=basic or something similar that was reported to work.

This reminds me a bit of the two machines I had with the exact same wireless card. It worked perfectly and easily on the one, and it refused on the other. Ain't it weird? kukibl got it to work, as did others. *sigh* no inspiration for troubleshooting left today. I'll better play some Sauerbraten :-D
Logged
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2008, 04:15:28 pm »

See! It's good to take a brake!

I have found this on a forum, I had to register to get in (just now temp.inbox is off line :-( )

Original (Ubuntu)
Code:
#!/bin/bash
sudo apt-get install build-essential ncurses-dev gettext libncurses5-dev linux-headers-`uname -r`
sudo mkdir -p /usr/src/alsa
cd /usr/src/alsa
sudo wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/driver/alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2
sudo wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/lib/alsa-lib-1.0.15.tar.bz2
sudo wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/utils/alsa-utils-1.0.15.tar.bz2
sudo tar xjf alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2
sudo tar xjf alsa-lib-1.0.15.tar.bz2
sudo tar xjf alsa-utils-1.0.15.tar.bz2
sudo rm alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2
sudo rm alsa-lib-1.0.15.tar.bz2
sudo rm alsa-utils-1.0.15.tar.bz2
cd alsa-driver-1.0.15
sudo ./configure --with-cards=hda-intel
sudo make
sudo make install
cd ../alsa-lib-1.0.15
sudo ./configure
sudo make
sudo make install
cd ../alsa-utils-1.0.15
sudo ./configure
sudo make
sudo make install
sudo echo "options snd-hda-intel model=toshiba position_fix=0 enable=yes
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
sudo mv /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/ubuntu/media/snd-hda-intel/snd-hda-intel.ko /tmp
sudo depmod -a
sudo reboot



After sanitizing
Code:
#!/bin/bash
su
mkdir -p /usr/src/alsa
cd /usr/src/alsa
wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/driver/alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2
wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/lib/alsa-lib-1.0.15.tar.bz2
wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/utils/alsa-utils-1.0.15.tar.bz2
tar xjf alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2
tar xjf alsa-lib-1.0.15.tar.bz2
tar xjf alsa-utils-1.0.15.tar.bz2
rm alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2
rm alsa-lib-1.0.15.tar.bz2
rm alsa-utils-1.0.15.tar.bz2
cd alsa-driver-1.0.15
./configure --with-cards=hda-intel
make
make install
cd ../alsa-lib-1.0.15
./configure
make
make install
cd ../alsa-utils-1.0.15
./configure
make
make install
echo "options snd-hda-intel model=toshiba position_fix=0 enable=yes
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss" |  tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
mv /lib/modules/2.6.22.14/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko /tmp
depmod -a
echo reboot

t's nothing more than a download of source and a recompile with an automagic configuration file creator. I'm just very unsure what that >mv< line is doing there. I've adjusted it, but I have no idea about why it's there :-s

Anyway, as luck would have it this doesn't work either. Alsa errors out. Running the above gives 2407 lines of messages  Shocked and this is the tail:
Code:
make[3]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/alsa/alsa-utils-1.0.15/speaker-test/samples'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/alsa/alsa-utils-1.0.15/speaker-test/samples'
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/alsa/alsa-utils-1.0.15/speaker-test'
if gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../include -I../include    -march=i586 -mtune=i686 -MT speaker-test.o -MD -MP -MF ".deps/speaker-test.Tpo" -c -o speaker-test.o speaker-test.c; \
then mv -f ".deps/speaker-test.Tpo" ".deps/speaker-test.Po"; else rm -f ".deps/speaker-test.Tpo"; exit 1; fi
speaker-test.c: In function 'main':
speaker-test.c:767: error: 'LC_ALL' undeclared (first use in this function)
speaker-test.c:767: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
speaker-test.c:767: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[2]: *** [speaker-test.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/alsa/alsa-utils-1.0.15/speaker-test'
make[1]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/alsa/alsa-utils-1.0.15/speaker-test'
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1




--
I found someone here who did it a little differently. I'm not really sure if the differences would make up for the error I got though. I'm back to the drawing board  Wink
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2008, 04:33:08 pm »

Freston,
alsa 1.0.16 was released today.
I will build packages for 5.9, and hopefully they fix you lack of sound.

Uelsk8s
Logged
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2008, 04:46:19 pm »

Uelsk8s, may the leaves of roses pave your way for a thousand lives, so that heavenly scent accompanies you for eternity!
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2008, 11:11:52 pm »

well, here they are : http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/alsa-driver-1.0.16_2.6.22.14-i586-1vl59.tlz
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/alsa-lib-1.0.16-i586-1vl59.tlz
upgrade the lib package and install the driver package

let us know how they work,
Uelsk8s
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 12:20:32 am by The Headacher » Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1548


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2008, 12:23:05 am »

uelsk8s: I edited your post so the url for alsa-driver would be recognized as an url ( I put a space between ":" and "http" ), hope you don't mind me messing up your post Wink.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2008, 02:31:14 am »

W00t!! Joy!

Easy as pie, kat in het bakkie, problem solved. Aw man, a thousand thanks!

Freston
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2008, 06:41:30 am »

The Headacher, thanks.  feel free to correct me whenever you need  Smiley

Glad it worked Freston.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!