VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: QEMU  (Read 6375 times)

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: QEMU
« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2008, 03:21:21 pm »

I would Highly recommend Vmware server. It is free and works very well. you can set it up to use a real partition, and run an installed OS there.
You can even run it on 1 computer and access it from others.
Logged

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: QEMU
« Reply #16 on: March 29, 2008, 03:32:29 pm »

uelsk8s would VMware be your choice over VirtualBox as well?
Logged
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: QEMU
« Reply #17 on: March 29, 2008, 04:12:31 pm »

uelsk8s would VMware be your choice over VirtualBox as well?
Yes.
VirtualBox gets better each time i try it, but it still does not equal Vmware IMO.
Logged

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: QEMU
« Reply #18 on: March 29, 2008, 04:34:03 pm »

I've used both and noted "minor" advantages to both over the other. I haven't tried VMware's 1.04 release yet though. Also at the time of most of my tinkering internet bandwidth was limited so the significant download size difference led me to using VBox. I'll check into VMware again though.

addendum: shows one how often I was checking into VMware...current is 1.05 with 2.0 beta available too.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2008, 07:58:48 pm by mikecindi »
Logged
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: QEMU
« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2008, 05:04:40 pm »

I tried QEMU on my faster desktop today and it seems to be working very well. I have virtual machines for both 98SE and Win 95A that I made for VL 5.8. I just copied the container files to my VL 5.9. They serve my rather limited needs, so I think I'll stick with them.

kqemu is not running, but the speed on the Athlon 64 X2 is very decent. I *may* try loading kqemu as an experiment, but I may leave well enough alone in the spirit of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."

It's possible that the problems I had on the other computer were due to insufficient muscle for running a virtual machine.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: 1 [2]