VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 10:51:01 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting ready for Vector Linux  (Read 7751 times)
tomh38
Vectorian
****
Posts: 913



« Reply #15 on: February 22, 2008, 06:50:24 am »

Thanks GrannyGeek, I'll give it a try when I get a chance and then report back.

Tom
Logged

"I'm doing a (free) operating system (just a hobby, won't be big and professional like gnu) for 386(486) AT clones." - Linus Torvalds, April 1991
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2008, 09:07:22 pm »

at CBS try anything but The big bang theory I am watching CSI now

Yes! It worked for me, too. So that makes two out of four that work with Linux. Still no luck with ABC or Fox on Demand.

My problem at CBS was that I assumed that all the programs listed as ones for which you could play whole episodes would actually work. I found out that only the ones with a Watch button work. It figures when you think about it.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
InTheWoods
Vectorite
***
Posts: 302


« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2008, 02:07:56 pm »


I can't watch anything. I live in the wrong area.

Logged
becleave
Member
*
Posts: 8


WWW
« Reply #18 on: February 26, 2008, 12:39:59 pm »

Thanks very much for all the help !
The installation went smoothly,so far so good.
To start, win xp , add drivers, and then games = 2 hours.
SP2 which I have on CD,Langa that PC guy, has an article
on how to make it a bootable CD,which works.
I have to install an Indigo video patch for one of my games..
hence start with SP1 .
Install 55 XP updates = 30 minutes .
Physically attach old HD, and transfer files = 3 hours!
Install VectorLinux uh  = 30 minutes (or less!)
 A full days work :-) , and then 'customize' all my settings.
On first boot, Vector worked perfectly !
 I had one small glitch -
placed the icon for change screen size in system tray,
made the adjustments, then when clicked OK, my monitor
developed a ghost image. Tried changing the Resolution, refresh,no difference.
Logged off root, and logged back in. Works fine. Problem solved!
Second minor incident - no sound!
Ah, the default volume settings was at zero.
Adjust , and we have sound!


Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 SOHO Final for two years.
NOW , VL 6.0 KDE Classic

Intel 865 motherboard
3.0 ghz P4 with HT
2gb 400 ddr
Dual-boot XP and Vector Linux 6.0 KDE
ATI 9250 Radeon 256MB vram
WD 320GB HD
DVD-ROM and DVD-RW
Floppy, old 3com NIC
becleave
Member
*
Posts: 8


WWW
« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2008, 12:50:56 pm »

About the software - Seamonkey has the option to open
pages from the www, a nice feature.
 I edit my pages through (online) control panels sometimes,
so being able to 'open from web' is perfect for me.
Normally I use 1st Page 2000 as well for html editor.
 My latest nuicance - I deleted the 'webbrowser' icon from
the quicklaunch toolbar, and tried to place a firefox icon there.
It won't go to the left ! It goes to the middle, or right side of the
taskbar, or even in the system tray(on right side).
 I'm sure its easy to fix, unless you're a n00b.
I can live with the way it is,tho.
 I found two places for online TV, FreeeTV  and wwi.tv.com .
Good for international, they also have american channels listed.

 
Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 SOHO Final for two years.
NOW , VL 6.0 KDE Classic

Intel 865 motherboard
3.0 ghz P4 with HT
2gb 400 ddr
Dual-boot XP and Vector Linux 6.0 KDE
ATI 9250 Radeon 256MB vram
WD 320GB HD
DVD-ROM and DVD-RW
Floppy, old 3com NIC
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #20 on: February 28, 2008, 05:00:19 pm »

To replace an icon in the Panel (quicklaunch area), right-click on the icon you want to replace and select Properties. Then just select the program and make the changes you want. You also can add similar programs that way: right-click on the icon, select Properties, click the plus sign and get New Item, change the name in the right section, add the command (you can browse to it if the command isn't in your path, and assign an icon of your choice). I have all the programs I use most arranged over icons in the Panel by categories: terminal, file managers, browsers, word processors-spreadsheets-PDF readers, graphics programs, multimedia, miscellaneous, utilities. You'll see a little up arrow next to the Panel icon. Click on that and the other programs will pop up.

To move a Panel program's icon, right-click on it and select Move. Drag it to where you want it, and you'll see a little plus sign as you lower it to the panel. Click when it's where you want it to be.

Right-clicking on a Panel icon and selecting Add New Item will pop up a list of what items are available. Choose Launcher if you want to add a program with an icon on the Panel. Then fill in the Name, command, and icon (and description if you want it).

If you have more questions about managing the Panel, please ask.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!