VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Getting ready for Vector Linux  (Read 8494 times)

tomh38

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 913
Re: Getting ready for Vector Linux
« Reply #15 on: February 22, 2008, 06:50:24 am »

Thanks GrannyGeek, I'll give it a try when I get a chance and then report back.

Tom
Logged
"I'm doing a (free) operating system (just a hobby, won't be big and professional like gnu) for 386(486) AT clones." - Linus Torvalds, April 1991

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: Getting ready for Vector Linux
« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2008, 09:07:22 pm »

at CBS try anything but The big bang theory I am watching CSI now

Yes! It worked for me, too. So that makes two out of four that work with Linux. Still no luck with ABC or Fox on Demand.

My problem at CBS was that I assumed that all the programs listed as ones for which you could play whole episodes would actually work. I found out that only the ones with a Watch button work. It figures when you think about it.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

InTheWoods

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
Re: Getting ready for Vector Linux
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2008, 02:07:56 pm »


I can't watch anything. I live in the wrong area.

Logged

becleave

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • cleaverb
Re: Getting ready for Vector Linux
« Reply #18 on: February 26, 2008, 12:39:59 pm »

Thanks very much for all the help !
The installation went smoothly,so far so good.
To start, win xp , add drivers, and then games = 2 hours.
SP2 which I have on CD,Langa that PC guy, has an article
on how to make it a bootable CD,which works.
I have to install an Indigo video patch for one of my games..
hence start with SP1 .
Install 55 XP updates = 30 minutes .
Physically attach old HD, and transfer files = 3 hours!
Install VectorLinux uh  = 30 minutes (or less!)
 A full days work :-) , and then 'customize' all my settings.
On first boot, Vector worked perfectly !
 I had one small glitch -
placed the icon for change screen size in system tray,
made the adjustments, then when clicked OK, my monitor
developed a ghost image. Tried changing the Resolution, refresh,no difference.
Logged off root, and logged back in. Works fine. Problem solved!
Second minor incident - no sound!
Ah, the default volume settings was at zero.
Adjust , and we have sound!


Logged
Vector Linux 5.8 SOHO Final for two years.
NOW , VL 6.0 KDE Classic

Intel 865 motherboard
3.0 ghz P4 with HT
2gb 400 ddr
Dual-boot XP and Vector Linux 6.0 KDE
ATI 9250 Radeon 256MB vram
WD 320GB HD
DVD-ROM and DVD-RW
Floppy, old 3com NIC

becleave

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • cleaverb
Re: Getting ready for Vector Linux
« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2008, 12:50:56 pm »

About the software - Seamonkey has the option to open
pages from the www, a nice feature.
 I edit my pages through (online) control panels sometimes,
so being able to 'open from web' is perfect for me.
Normally I use 1st Page 2000 as well for html editor.
 My latest nuicance - I deleted the 'webbrowser' icon from
the quicklaunch toolbar, and tried to place a firefox icon there.
It won't go to the left ! It goes to the middle, or right side of the
taskbar, or even in the system tray(on right side).
 I'm sure its easy to fix, unless you're a n00b.
I can live with the way it is,tho.
 I found two places for online TV, FreeeTV  and wwi.tv.com .
Good for international, they also have american channels listed.

 
Logged
Vector Linux 5.8 SOHO Final for two years.
NOW , VL 6.0 KDE Classic

Intel 865 motherboard
3.0 ghz P4 with HT
2gb 400 ddr
Dual-boot XP and Vector Linux 6.0 KDE
ATI 9250 Radeon 256MB vram
WD 320GB HD
DVD-ROM and DVD-RW
Floppy, old 3com NIC

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: Getting ready for Vector Linux
« Reply #20 on: February 28, 2008, 05:00:19 pm »

To replace an icon in the Panel (quicklaunch area), right-click on the icon you want to replace and select Properties. Then just select the program and make the changes you want. You also can add similar programs that way: right-click on the icon, select Properties, click the plus sign and get New Item, change the name in the right section, add the command (you can browse to it if the command isn't in your path, and assign an icon of your choice). I have all the programs I use most arranged over icons in the Panel by categories: terminal, file managers, browsers, word processors-spreadsheets-PDF readers, graphics programs, multimedia, miscellaneous, utilities. You'll see a little up arrow next to the Panel icon. Click on that and the other programs will pop up.

To move a Panel program's icon, right-click on it and select Move. Drag it to where you want it, and you'll see a little plus sign as you lower it to the panel. Click when it's where you want it to be.

Right-clicking on a Panel icon and selecting Add New Item will pop up a list of what items are available. Choose Launcher if you want to add a program with an icon on the Panel. Then fill in the Name, command, and icon (and description if you want it).

If you have more questions about managing the Panel, please ask.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: 1 [2]