Please support VectorLinux!

Poll

Login screen has disappeared

test
0 (0%)
test
3 (100%)

Total Members Voted: 3

Author Topic: VectorLinux: No login screen  (Read 1290 times)

eys_linux

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
VectorLinux: No login screen
« on: March 01, 2008, 01:33:41 am »
Hi

The login screen does not come up when I start vector linux. Instead I get a text based mode were I first to login and then I can type "startx" and then it starts. What should I do so what the graphical login screen starts when I start my computer. It worked some days ago, but after uninstallation of some packages it does  not work.
Any help would be appreciated.
 

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: VectorLinux: No login screen
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2008, 02:34:24 am »

eys_linux

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: VectorLinux: No login screen
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2008, 03:55:59 am »
Hi
I have autoconfigured my settings for X-window with VASM again, but unfournately it did not help.
I think some package is missing but, I don't now which...


kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: VectorLinux: No login screen
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2008, 06:02:27 am »
Hi
I have autoconfigured my settings for X-window with VASM again, but unfournately it did not help.
I think some package is missing but, I don't now which...



Tells us a little about what machine hardware your running.. is it for instance a laptop? P.C. ?
what video card etc.


Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: VectorLinux: No login screen
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2008, 07:45:21 am »
Hi

The login screen does not come up when I start vector linux. Instead I get a text based mode were I first to login and then I can type "startx" and then it starts. What should I do so what the graphical login screen starts when I start my computer. It worked some days ago, but after uninstallation of some packages it does  not work.
Any help would be appreciated.
 

what packages that you have uninstall?