VectorLinux
November 26, 2014, 09:08:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Fonts in Wine  (Read 2041 times)
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« on: March 01, 2008, 08:10:54 am »

I use wine to install and run a couple of windoze programs that I can't get under linux.

they run fine the problem i'm having is that during the install of one of them i can't read the messages that show the licensing statement for instance.  I get just garbled charectors .  I suppose I'm missing the correct fonts but can't find any that seem to work and suggestions? 
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2290


« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2008, 09:58:15 am »

Try using WINEPREFIX=~/.wine && wine <name.exe> to start the win program. That worked for me the last week when my little cousin wanted to play battlefield 2.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2008, 02:06:36 pm »

Thank you I'll give it a try.

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2008, 08:47:07 pm »

You could try putting Arial and Times New Roman in the \windows\fonts directory in your ~/.wine/drive_c/windows directory. You can just copy the TTF files from your actual Windows directory on a Windows partition.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2008, 04:06:37 am »

You could try putting Arial and Times New Roman in the \windows\fonts directory in your ~/.wine/drive_c/windows directory. You can just copy the TTF files from your actual Windows directory on a Windows partition.
--GrannyGeek

Thank you I'll give that a try later today also.. The problem I was having is not in running the program it self.  the fonts in the program seem to be fine.. but when installing the program the informational box that come up are garbled .. Lisence agreements and such.

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2008, 05:24:14 am »

Moving the Fonts from a windows Partition indeed worked but there ought to be a way to do it without having to have a windows partition involved. any suggestions?
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4030



« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2008, 05:34:22 am »

Search for "microsoft core fonts". Here is a good one:

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=34153&package_id=56408&release_id=105355
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2008, 05:36:47 am »

Thank you will take a look .

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!