VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: localhost:631 down?  (Read 2516 times)

kge420

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
localhost:631 down?
« on: March 05, 2008, 03:27:36 pm »

 I've been trying to access the CUPS page at "localhost:631" for the past few days and have had no success. Is the site down?
Logged
Toshiba Satellite 2805
20 GB hdd
192mb ram
VL 5.9


"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy".
    -Ben Franklin

tomh38

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 913
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2008, 03:48:19 pm »

kge420,

localhost:631 is on your machine.  What kind of message are you getting when you try to pull it up in a web browser?

Tom
Logged
"I'm doing a (free) operating system (just a hobby, won't be big and professional like gnu) for 386(486) AT clones." - Linus Torvalds, April 1991

kge420

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2008, 04:11:37 pm »

 
      I have also been unable to launch gslapt. These worked up until a few days ago.
     
     

     
     
     

     
       
       

         

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at localhost:631.

     
     
     

     
       
       

       
« Last Edit: March 05, 2008, 04:14:43 pm by kge420 »
Logged
Toshiba Satellite 2805
20 GB hdd
192mb ram
VL 5.9


"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy".
    -Ben Franklin

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2008, 04:18:13 pm »

maybe http://127.0.0.1:631 will work ???
Logged

kge420

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2008, 04:35:11 pm »

 No luck  "404 not found"   ???
Logged
Toshiba Satellite 2805
20 GB hdd
192mb ram
VL 5.9


"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy".
    -Ben Franklin

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2323
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2008, 04:47:23 pm »

Perhaps you have to enable the cups service with vasm.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

kge420

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2008, 05:03:37 pm »

vasmcc-services- CUPS-leads me to the 404 error
Logged
Toshiba Satellite 2805
20 GB hdd
192mb ram
VL 5.9


"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy".
    -Ben Franklin

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2008, 05:38:52 pm »

Try /etc/rc.d/rc.cups start

Bigpaws
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2323
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2008, 05:39:44 pm »

Hmm, you have to enable the cups service first, go to VasmCC, Services, Services (services again, not cups printing), pick your runlevel (mostly like 4), and check the cupsd box. This shouldn't launch any browser.
Once the cups daemon is started, then click in the CUPS printing icon, or navigate to localhost:631 with your browser.
If this doesn't work you can check if the cups daemon is running manually:

Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep cupsd
If cupsd is not there beyond the grep process, try launching it as root and post the error message if any.

Code: [Select]
cupsd
EDIT: Oh Bigpaws won the race by a few seconds, his suggestion is better, use it instead mine :).
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

reb

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • The BOSS
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2008, 05:49:02 pm »


I just went to the http://localhost:631 and it came up fine.  I also tried using http://www.localhost:631 and got the same error mesg  404, so try dropping the www and see if you can get it.  Make sure that Vl recognizes your printer first or CUPS can't help you.

reb
Logged
Ye Ole Montana Saddle Tramp
Nothing is right or wrong, good or bad, only thinking makes it so.  Think about it.
Running a Vector Linux VL3300 with 1 SATA 80GB HDD and 1GB DDR 400 ram, DVD+-RW , and VL 5.9 Delux

reb

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • The BOSS
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2008, 06:03:12 pm »

I'm sorry kge420  I should have included this in the above post.

When and if you do access the CUPS page, click on "manage printers'", after it does its thing, you will be asked for 'name' and 'password'.  In 'name' use "root" and in 'password' use your root  password.  Good Luck  :)

reb
Logged
Ye Ole Montana Saddle Tramp
Nothing is right or wrong, good or bad, only thinking makes it so.  Think about it.
Running a Vector Linux VL3300 with 1 SATA 80GB HDD and 1GB DDR 400 ram, DVD+-RW , and VL 5.9 Delux

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2008, 06:50:54 pm »

I just went to the http://localhost:631 and it came up fine.  I also tried using http://www.localhost:631 and got the same error mesg  404, so try dropping the www and see if you can get it.  Make sure that Vl recognizes your printer first or CUPS can't help you.

How does VL recognize a printer if you haven't yet installed it in CUPS? My printers aren't seen until I set them up in CUPS.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

reb

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • The BOSS
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2008, 07:13:25 am »

Quote
How does VL recognize a printer if you haven't yet installed it in CUPS? My printers aren't seen until I set them up in CUPS.
--GrannyGeek

I was told to use VASM as root and select  Hardware > Hwset > paralell: Parallel port and printer.  Next I use the Kde desktop so this may not work for everyone.

I then went to "Control Center" > peripherals > printers > Printers - Control Center and at the bottom right selected CUPS, then as 'root' followed ADD (a printer); from there, ran a test page and finally had to go to the CUPS web page to set the printer as 'default'.

Was I lucky "yes", will it work for everyone "probably not",  but that is how I (and 'we' the fourm) managed to do it.

hope this helps someone else

reb
Logged
Ye Ole Montana Saddle Tramp
Nothing is right or wrong, good or bad, only thinking makes it so.  Think about it.
Running a Vector Linux VL3300 with 1 SATA 80GB HDD and 1GB DDR 400 ram, DVD+-RW , and VL 5.9 Delux

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2008, 06:23:02 pm »

Thanks for the expanation, reb. I can see why I've never seen anything like that.

I haven't had any printers on a parallel port for years. I do have two printers that *could* be connected to a parallel port, but they're both on Ethernet print servers now and have IP addresses of their own. I also have two all-in-ones that are connected by USB. There is one on each of my desktop computers. CUPS sees them but has no driver for them, so I have to install a driver from the manufacturer before I can set them up with CUPS.

I don't use a parallel port for anything and don't have a parallel port enabled in VectorLinux.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

reb

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • The BOSS
Re: localhost:631 down?
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2008, 08:57:26 am »

Quote
Thanks for the expanation, reb. I can see why I've never seen anything like that.
Quote
I don't use a parallel port for anything and don't have a parallel port enabled in VectorLinux.
--GrannyGeek

And that, GrannyGeek answers the micro-mystery in my mind.  If you hadn't seen it or heard about it, you couldn't have known.  :)
I know because I suffer from a lack of sufficient knowledge constantly, on more subjects than just Linux.  :(

cheers

reb
Logged
Ye Ole Montana Saddle Tramp
Nothing is right or wrong, good or bad, only thinking makes it so.  Think about it.
Running a Vector Linux VL3300 with 1 SATA 80GB HDD and 1GB DDR 400 ram, DVD+-RW , and VL 5.9 Delux