VectorLinux
April 20, 2014, 01:48:05 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Creating slackware-compliant packages  (Read 2913 times)
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« on: March 06, 2008, 06:19:08 am »

Not sure if this is the appropriate sub-forum.  However, I have a dream - a dream where I can create a slackware-compliant package using one of the included compiling options in Vector.  Why I hear you ask?  Simple - I can't fit/find dev tools for Puppy, and given that both Puppy and Vector play nicely with Slack packages, it seems that I should be able to find a suitable work-around using the two.

This is mostly because I need either open1x or vpnc to work on my mobile machine.  Preferably the former, as my uni is phasing out its VPN-secured wireless networks some time this year.

I imagine I'll need the source to pull this off but that's no problem.  I'm also pretty sure that if I were trying to do this solely for one of my vector machines it'd be relatively simple - ./configure, ./make, ./make install and away I go.

Any help that could be offered in realising my dream would be greatly appreciated - I shall wish delicious cake upon them and their household.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3134



« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2008, 06:32:53 am »

There a guidelines here that packagers use to create their packages... here is a howto
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=1380.0

You can also use vpackager in VL to create .tgz packages. These should install in slackware and puppy as well.
Unfortunately, the current vpackager version has a serious bug that keeps it from building packages from source code.
You can use a previous version and see if that works for you. Here is a link
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/old/x-apps/vpackager-1.0.1RC2-i586-1vl59.tlz
Logged

BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2008, 02:43:25 pm »

You're a gem sir.  Shall test this out on my primary vector box post-haste.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2008, 03:27:09 pm »

I'm getting an odd error when I try to go the non-vpackager path:

Code:
root:# ./configure
bash: ./configure: /bin/sh^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

I have no idea why this is happening.

Incidentally, vpackager also refuses to compile it Sad
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2008, 04:04:42 pm »

you have dos newlines in there somehow.
did you open configure in dos?

you can fix it with "sed 's/\r//' configure >configure.new && mv configure.new configure"
but there may be more?
Logged
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2008, 04:26:04 pm »

Hmm, well it started life in a .zip file, so yeah, there just might've been DOS code in there that I wasn't aware of.  Will try fixing, but I'm now concerned similar problems may exist throughout :/

Will try and report back.

EDIT:  Well, it starts configuring at least, thanks Uelsk8s.  Now it decides to break elsewhere :/

Code:
root:# ./configure
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/ginstall -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
: command not foundesktop/xsupplicant-2.0.1.080204/missing: line 5:
: command not foundesktop/xsupplicant-2.0.1.080204/missing: line 10:
: command not foundesktop/xsupplicant-2.0.1.080204/missing: line 15:
: command not foundesktop/xsupplicant-2.0.1.080204/missing: line 20:
: command not foundesktop/xsupplicant-2.0.1.080204/missing: line 25:
/home/christopher/Desktop/xsupplicant-2.0.1.080204/missing: line 41: syntax erro' near unexpected token `in
/home/christopher/Desktop/xsupplicant-2.0.1.080204/missing: line 41: `case "$1" 'n
configure: WARNING: `missing' script is too old or missing
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
configure: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

I'm uncertain whether or not that'll make any changes to vpackager's success, but I'll test that now.

EDIT2:  Nope, vpackager still insists "Unable to process source - please build manually"
« Last Edit: March 06, 2008, 04:34:03 pm by BlueMage » Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2008, 04:40:57 pm »

what is it your trying to build?
Logged
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2008, 04:50:09 pm »

xsupplicant-2.0.1 - open source implementation of 802.1X client.  Uni's gone and put in a PEAP-based wireless network, which will be replacing the soon-to-be-phased-out VPN-secured wireless.

EDIT:  Getting similar vpackager results when trying to work with vpnc
« Last Edit: March 06, 2008, 04:52:22 pm by BlueMage » Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2008, 08:34:02 am »

Code:
for i in *;do sed 's/\r//' $i >$i.new && mv $i.new $i;done
doing that in the source folder of xsupplicant-2.0.1 will get configure to work
Logged
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2008, 04:28:59 am »

It did.  To an extent.  It's now failing in other creative fashions.  I'm starting to think perhaps this release of Open1X wasn't actually ready for release Sad

I'm also happy to turn this over to someone with far better packaging experience than I have - I imagine there will come a time when it will be useful for Vector to have this particular wireless supplicant.

Source can be found here for any that are interested.  uelsk8s, M0E, I wish I had better results to show for your help.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!