VectorLinux
October 21, 2014, 07:05:40 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] - Sound card problem  (Read 2463 times)
ruien
Member
*
Posts: 9


« on: March 14, 2008, 08:13:45 pm »

Hi.

First of all  thanks for a great distro that runs great on my lappy.

Maybe someone can help me with my soundcard problem. I've tried the latest 5.9 and everthing works fine except sound via internal speakers on my laptop. I get sound when headset is plugged in so that is fine. The sound is only working perfectly in ubuntu 7.10 (this is the only linux distro where sound is working fine) and windows and if i downgrade my bios to first release wich is not an option.

I would like to buy VL cd's but i would like to get my sound to work proberly. Someone in another forum told me that i needed to add 3stack_dig to model in soundcard but it did'nt help. I'm not able to provide any info from my system right now because i run win xp atm. Could provide SIW output tho. The soundcard driver in linux is snd_hda_intel and as I said before every thing else is working fine.

Hopefully there someone that had or have a similar problem that can help me with this.

Thanks for any help.
 
 
Quote
Grin I found the answer how to do this in another thread here on VL Forum: http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=4125.0

For my Fujitsu Amilo xa1526 i did this:

as root: init 2
then:   modprobe -r snd-hda-intel && modprobe snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig
Then i could play mp3 and adjust all volume settings like bass,  treble and volume.

You can also do this in a terminal from desktop: as root: /etc/rc.d/rc.alsa stop and then do the above command and then /etc/rc.d/rc.alsa start and it should work. At least for me.
To get this to work from boot add this line to rc.local found in /etc/rc.d/

/sbin/modprobe -r snd-hda-intel && modprobe snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig

Thanks for all help.


« Last Edit: March 20, 2008, 05:38:28 am by ruien » Logged

My laptops: Toshiba G40-127, Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU-T7500 @ 2.20GHz, 2x200 GB SATA, Geforce 8600GT 512mb, Realtek HD 5.1 soundcard, 1920x1200 res, 4GB RAM, Intel 4965AGN Wifi card, Vector SOHO 5.9.1 -- Asus Eee pc900 16gb - VL-Light-6.0-Alpha
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 06:41:49 am »

There are couple things to include for us.

The name,make, and model of the laptop

You can also find the sound card name by using
lspci.

In the simplest solution open a terminal and type
alsamixer. It maybe that the output channel is muted
for speakers. Use m to mute or unmute.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged
ruien
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2008, 11:23:11 am »


The name,make, and model of the laptop

You can also find the sound card name by using
lspci.


HTH

Bigpaws

Thanks for reply but as said in post i'm not able to provide a lspci or lsusb coz i dont have linux installed. Only windows. I'm considering installing linux again just to have a linux system running while trying to figure out why sound doesnt work proberly.

If you look at my sign you'll see what kind off laptop i have.   But here you go Smiley  My laptop: Fujitsu siemens Amilo XA1526, Turion64 X2, 2 x 320 wd scorpio sata disks, 4 gb ram, 7600Go, 256 with 1440x900 res. When it comes to soundcard it is a Realtek High Definition Audio soundcard. I know the output channel aint muted. As I said it works perfectly in ubuntu 7.10

Thanks
Logged

My laptops: Toshiba G40-127, Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU-T7500 @ 2.20GHz, 2x200 GB SATA, Geforce 8600GT 512mb, Realtek HD 5.1 soundcard, 1920x1200 res, 4GB RAM, Intel 4965AGN Wifi card, Vector SOHO 5.9.1 -- Asus Eee pc900 16gb - VL-Light-6.0-Alpha
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2008, 12:35:02 pm »

Try one of the LiveCD's and see if things work for you. You will be able to run those commands then.
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2008, 02:14:45 pm »

Quote
My laptop: Fujitsu siemens Amilo XA1526, Turion64 X2, 2 x 320 wd scorpio sata disks, 4 gb ram, 7600Go, 256 with 1440x900 res. When it comes to soundcard it is a Realtek High Definition Audio soundcard.
It's a shame that even laptops that high-spec come with those bloody intel hda abominations, it sure looks like the perfect computer otherwise..
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
ruien
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2008, 10:00:46 pm »

It's a shame that even laptops that high-spec come with those bloody intel hda abominations, it sure looks like the perfect computer otherwise..

 Smiley I agree with that and even worse it is a sis163u wifi card in this lappy. But I never had any problems with neither connections or speed using ndiswrapper so I'm happy with that for now. But back to audio:) There are 3 speakers onboard. 2 on top and one sub(Harman Kardon i think) so it's pretty good sound when they work:). Only in Ubuntu 7.10 I can adjust the volume on sub and speakers seperatly. This dosnt work on older versions of ubuntu or any other distro. 

For nightflier:  
Quote
Try one of the LiveCD's and see if things work for you. You will be able to run those commands then.

Yeah i know i can load ubuntu live and show the output but thats a working system. I'll get back with that when i got VL running again. Missing one drive that is in the shop for testing. It is easier to fix something that doesn't work than trying to fix something on a system that works like it should.

So I'll get back to this later this week when i got VL running again.

Thanks
Logged

My laptops: Toshiba G40-127, Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU-T7500 @ 2.20GHz, 2x200 GB SATA, Geforce 8600GT 512mb, Realtek HD 5.1 soundcard, 1920x1200 res, 4GB RAM, Intel 4965AGN Wifi card, Vector SOHO 5.9.1 -- Asus Eee pc900 16gb - VL-Light-6.0-Alpha
ruien
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2008, 03:05:42 pm »

There are couple things to include for us.

The name,make, and model of the laptop

You can also find the sound card name by using
lspci.

In the simplest solution open a terminal and type
alsamixer. It maybe that the output channel is muted
for speakers. Use m to mute or unmute.

HTH

Bigpaws


Ok back to this problem.

Temp install of VL and here are the lspci output.

almostroot:# lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus (rev a3)
00:0a.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PMU (rev a3)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 IDE (rev f1)
00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev f1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:14.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce Go 7600] (rev a1)
07:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev c0)


Thanks for all help.
Logged

My laptops: Toshiba G40-127, Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU-T7500 @ 2.20GHz, 2x200 GB SATA, Geforce 8600GT 512mb, Realtek HD 5.1 soundcard, 1920x1200 res, 4GB RAM, Intel 4965AGN Wifi card, Vector SOHO 5.9.1 -- Asus Eee pc900 16gb - VL-Light-6.0-Alpha
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!