VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: raid kernal - soho 5.8  (Read 4685 times)

frayja2002

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
raid kernal - soho 5.8
« on: March 16, 2008, 01:38:57 am »

Hi there

I have a proliant ml570 that I would like load vector to. I know that suse & ubuntu will both boot the installer using the supplied raid kernel. Looking at the disk it appears that VL SOHO 5.8 only comes with the  sata kernel.

Is there a simple way for me to add the raid kernel to the disk iso so that I can just boot it & it works ( as per the sata) or is it much more complicated than that.

Any ideas on the simplest way to make this happen would be appreciated..
Cheers
Alex
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: raid kernal - soho 5.8
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2008, 06:49:28 am »

Alot of scsi cards are included in the pre compiled kernel,
give it a shot.

Compiling the CCISS module does not appear to be that
much of a problem.

The module should be in that kernel, not that hard to add it.

If you still need the module you can get it here:

http://cciss.sourceforge.net/

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged

frayja2002

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: raid kernal - soho 5.8
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2008, 03:11:49 pm »

Your right. I checked the demesg & I found the info on cciss, but when VL goes to install it says "i can't find any hard drives. I'm out of here" & drops out back to the shell.

Does anyone have any idea why this happens. As previously I have installed Ubuntu which found the drives without even asking me any questions.

Quoted below is a bit of the dmesg.

RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 18000K size 1024 blocksize
loop: loaded (max 8 devices)
xd: Out of memory.
Compaq SMART2 Driver (v 2.6.0)
HP CISS Driver (v 3.6.14)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:07:07.0[A] -> GSI 24 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
cciss0: <0xb060> at PCI 0000:07:07.0 IRQ 16 using DAC
      blocks= 71130720 block_size= 512
      heads=255, sectors=32, cylinders=8717

      blocks= 213375840 block_size= 512
      heads=255, sectors=32, cylinders=26149

      blocks= 35536800 block_size= 512
      heads=255, sectors=32, cylinders=4355

      blocks= 71130720 block_size= 512
      heads=255, sectors=32, cylinders=8717

 cciss/c0d0: p1 p2 < p5 >
      blocks= 213375840 block_size= 512
      heads=255, sectors=32, cylinders=26149

 cciss/c0d1:
      blocks= 35536800 block_size= 512
      heads=255, sectors=32, cylinders=4355

 cciss/c0d2: unknown partition table
input: Macintosh mouse button emulation as /class/input/input1
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 7.00alpha2
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: raid kernal - soho 5.8
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2008, 03:33:37 pm »

IIRC the 5.8 installer was not able to handle all types of SCSI drives.
try 5.9 it should install there

Uelsk8s
Logged

frayja2002

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: raid kernal - soho 5.8
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2008, 02:45:20 am »

Hi all
 
I gave the VL 5.9 - Gold a try With no luck this gives exactly the same info in dmesg.

If the kernel is supposed to be universal, why is it that Slackware still has a scsi & raid boot option.

Am I able to kickstart the install using the raid boot kernel from Slackware as I know this loads with no problems.

Cheers
Alex

Logged

frayja2002

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: raid kernal - soho 5.8
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2008, 03:15:38 am »

Just a ps

I have tried this on a Proliant 7000 with the same result.

Is there anyone out there that can confirm any of this?

Cheers
Alex
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: raid kernal - soho 5.8
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2008, 08:55:21 am »

Quote
If the kernel is supposed to be universal, why is it that Slackware still has a scsi & raid boot option.

Am I able to kickstart the install using the raid boot kernel from Slackware as I know this loads with no problems.

This a two part question. First one being that not many people use true scsi
raid arrays with Vector, therefore the experience is very limited. Vector is not
designed for server setups, although many are doing so.

You can use the slackware kernel. Why not use Slackware, since Slackware
is designed to be used as a server?

Bigpaws
Logged

frayja2002

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: raid kernal - soho 5.8
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2008, 03:17:47 am »

Would have been nice to be able to run VL as an LTSP server.
VL is the best for that.
The file server was only half of it.

Alex
Logged