VectorLinux
July 23, 2014, 08:00:59 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wireless US Robotics MAXg USB - Solution?  (Read 1136 times)
MadPuppy

« on: March 23, 2008, 11:45:50 am »

Hi all!

I am a first day newbie.
I have an old laptop, and on that I installed the VL5.9 Light. It works great!

What does NOT work however, is my US Robotics USR5421 Maxg USB dongle.

I worked through part of the how-to, and searched a bunch of sites through google and such.
During that process I ran into a site that seems to provide a driver that is supposed to work with exactly my wireless USB dongle, and thus make a long process a lot shorter!
http://www.jooz.net/rndis/
The problem is: it seems to be written with expert Linux users in mind, because it seems like a secret language to me.

What I do NOT ask (at the moment) is a translation into noob-nees.
What I would appreciate is some insight into the possibility (or lack thereof) of this site actually providing me with a solution.

Looking forward to learning more about Linux.

MadPuppy

uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2008, 12:04:45 pm »

try running VLwifi from the network menu and see if it can connect first.
MadPuppy

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2008, 02:45:04 pm »

Did the VLwifi, and it probed for hardware.
Asked if I wanted to insert a Windows driver into ndiswrapper. Don't know what will happen or if the .inf I have here is all I need. So I clicked cancel.
Result: 'no wireless card found'.

I did follow the how-to up to the command:
modprobe module-name (I used bcm43xx)