VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: CUPS missing file  (Read 3746 times)

Uta

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
CUPS missing file
« on: March 28, 2008, 09:43:11 am »

I have install VL 5.8 standard Gold on my old Dell laptop, everything is working except printing.
My printer is a network printer. I have tried to set it up via CUPS but it says it's missing a file called "libldap-2.3.so" can not open shared object. Other issues, when I try to update CUPS it says it needs gnutls >=1.6 so I can't update.
What other possibilities do I have for printing from a network printer?
Thanks
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4133
Re: CUPS missing file
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2008, 11:17:41 am »

I use 5.8 SOHO, so it may be a little different, but this is worth a try. As root, in a terminal, type:
ls -al /usr/lib/libldap-*

On my system, that returns:
Code: [Select]
root:# ls -al /usr/lib/libldap-*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     21 2007-11-02 14:33 /usr/lib/libldap-2.3.so.0 -> libldap-2.3.so.0.2.15
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 219232 2006-08-25 00:48 /usr/lib/libldap-2.3.so.0.2.15
This means that libldap-2.3.so.0 is actually a link to libldap-2.3.so.0.2.15

If you see a file named libldap-2.3.something, try making a link like this:
cd /usr/lib
ln -s libldap-2.3.something libldap-2.3.so
Logged

Uta

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: CUPS missing file
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2008, 11:34:59 am »

thanks for your reply. I uninstalled cups and then reinstalled it, all files are there now.
I am now trying to configure my printer via a web browser and I am stuck on the device protocol selection.
I have a Linksys print server with the local address of 192.168.0.100. What protocol works with VL?
Thanks--
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4133
Re: CUPS missing file
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2008, 03:45:12 pm »

try these settings:
Network printer (IPP)
socket://192.168.0.100:9100
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: CUPS missing file
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2008, 08:41:08 pm »

I have two printers on print servers. Here are their addresses in CUPS:

lpd://192.168.2.1:515/lpt1

lpd://192.168.2.50:515/lpt1

--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

Uta

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: CUPS missing file
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2008, 02:19:00 pm »

try these settings:
Network printer (IPP)
socket://192.168.0.100:9100


Thanks to everyone who replied.
The socket: configuration worked faster than the lpd setting in terms of printing a test page, but I can't seem to get it to print via any of the apps. In the text editor I see the printer listed, choose it, click print and nothing gets sent to the printer. Is this a permission issue?
------a little later-------
I changed the settings to: ipp://192.168.0.100/ipp/
and now I can print from Abiword but not my text editors, any ideas?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2008, 02:54:17 pm by Uta »
Logged

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: CUPS missing file
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2008, 07:35:43 pm »

My Linksys print server is set up like this:
lpd://192.168.0.101/L1
Can't even tell it's a server.
HTH
Logged

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: CUPS missing file
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2008, 07:41:04 pm »

try these settings:
Network printer (IPP)
socket://192.168.0.100:9100


Thanks to everyone who replied.
The socket: configuration worked faster than the lpd setting in terms of printing a test page, but I can't seem to get it to print via any of the apps. In the text editor I see the printer listed, choose it, click print and nothing gets sent to the printer. Is this a permission issue?
------a little later-------
I changed the settings to: ipp://192.168.0.100/ipp/
and now I can print from Abiword but not my text editors, any ideas?
Thanks.


Check to see that you're sending it to the correct printer, via the print options. ALso if this is the only printer, you might want to check/consider making it the default printer, and all apps will then use it (should, depending on their configuration).
Logged