VectorLinux
October 20, 2014, 09:10:03 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux  (Read 1811 times)
Azmandius
Member
*
Posts: 49


The beat never fades!


WWW
« on: April 02, 2008, 06:17:36 am »

Hello,
I was wondering if its possible to desktop-login remotely to a machine on LAN in VL, and what need service need to be enabled/configured in local and remote machine to achieve that?
Thank you much.
Logged

The beat never fades!
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3184



« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2008, 07:20:19 am »

It is possible. You will not however see the KDM login prompt. Rather you'd want to use a VNC server @ the remote machine (the one you want to log in to) and a VNC Viewer on the client (the computer you will be connecting from)

There used to be a tightvnc package on the repos, but it seems to not be there anymore..

You should be able to simply build tightvnc using the cruxports4slack feature in vpackager.

After you install it, see this thread for information on how to use it
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5632.0

HTH
Logged

hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2008, 09:09:25 am »

I believe there is a rdesktop package for VL59 in the VL repository.  Kiss
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3184



« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2008, 09:11:19 am »

I've always used VNC on Linux to Linux and Win to Linux as well as Linux to Win connections...

I'm using rDesktop now because I'm loging in to a window server that runs RDP.
Logged

Azmandius
Member
*
Posts: 49


The beat never fades!


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2008, 11:21:46 pm »

So is rDesktop good for rather Linux to Windows remote connections?

Is VNC resource hogger and does it start a needed and stop when not used?

I'd really appreciate some more info on that: "You should be able to simply build tightvnc using the cruxports4slack feature in vpackager."

Thanks much.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2008, 11:28:43 pm by Azmandius » Logged

The beat never fades!
BlueMage
Vectorite
***
Posts: 274



« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2008, 02:05:21 am »

rdesktop is brilliant for connecting to a Windows machine via RDC.  I've used it several times and never been disappointed.
Logged

Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3184



« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2008, 03:52:28 am »

So is rDesktop good for rather Linux to Windows remote connections?

Is VNC resource hogger and does it start a needed and stop when not used?

I'd really appreciate some more info on that: "You should be able to simply build tightvnc using the cruxports4slack feature in vpackager."

Thanks much.

rDesktop is a front end to tools like VNC and other protocols IIRC.
As with any remote session appliation, you can run the server when you need it, and stop it when you dont if you prefer.
To build tightvnc, open vpackager (Should be under system)
Click on the "Cruxports4slack" button
Click on the "Display Available" button
type "vnc" on the search bar
Select tightvnc and click "Build Selected"
Logged

Azmandius
Member
*
Posts: 49


The beat never fades!


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2008, 04:21:35 am »

So is rDesktop good for rather Linux to Windows remote connections?

Is VNC resource hogger and does it start a needed and stop when not used?

I'd really appreciate some more info on that: "You should be able to simply build tightvnc using the cruxports4slack feature in vpackager."

Thanks much.

rDesktop is a front end to tools like VNC and other protocols IIRC.
As with any remote session appliation, you can run the server when you need it, and stop it when you dont if you prefer.
To build tightvnc, open vpackager (Should be under system)
Click on the "Cruxports4slack" button
Click on the "Display Available" button
type "vnc" on the search bar
Select tightvnc and click "Build Selected"

Thank you.
Will be working on that.
Logged

The beat never fades!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!