VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux  (Read 2034 times)

Azmandius

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • The beat never fades!
    • ::: az0000000 Website :::
Remote Desktop in Vector Linux
« on: April 02, 2008, 07:17:36 am »

Hello,
I was wondering if its possible to desktop-login remotely to a machine on LAN in VL, and what need service need to be enabled/configured in local and remote machine to achieve that?
Thank you much.
Logged
The beat never fades!

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3250
Re: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2008, 08:20:19 am »

It is possible. You will not however see the KDM login prompt. Rather you'd want to use a VNC server @ the remote machine (the one you want to log in to) and a VNC Viewer on the client (the computer you will be connecting from)

There used to be a tightvnc package on the repos, but it seems to not be there anymore..

You should be able to simply build tightvnc using the cruxports4slack feature in vpackager.

After you install it, see this thread for information on how to use it
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5632.0

HTH

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2008, 10:09:25 am »

I believe there is a rdesktop package for VL59 in the VL repository.  :-*
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3250
Re: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2008, 10:11:19 am »

I've always used VNC on Linux to Linux and Win to Linux as well as Linux to Win connections...

I'm using rDesktop now because I'm loging in to a window server that runs RDP.

Azmandius

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • The beat never fades!
    • ::: az0000000 Website :::
Re: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2008, 12:21:46 am »

So is rDesktop good for rather Linux to Windows remote connections?

Is VNC resource hogger and does it start a needed and stop when not used?

I'd really appreciate some more info on that: "You should be able to simply build tightvnc using the cruxports4slack feature in vpackager."

Thanks much.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2008, 12:28:43 am by Azmandius »
Logged
The beat never fades!

BlueMage

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2008, 03:05:21 am »

rdesktop is brilliant for connecting to a Windows machine via RDC.  I've used it several times and never been disappointed.
Logged
Acer Laptop:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final & Windows XP Professional & USB (still alive!)
Compaq POS (almost dead): Vector 5.9 Light Beta 5
Quad-core BEAST: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit & Vector 5.9 64-bit beta-2
Old 500MHz media box:  Vector 5.8 SOHO Final (dead)
701 EeePC:  Puppeee (based on Puppy 4.01)

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3250
Re: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2008, 04:52:28 am »

So is rDesktop good for rather Linux to Windows remote connections?

Is VNC resource hogger and does it start a needed and stop when not used?

I'd really appreciate some more info on that: "You should be able to simply build tightvnc using the cruxports4slack feature in vpackager."

Thanks much.

rDesktop is a front end to tools like VNC and other protocols IIRC.
As with any remote session appliation, you can run the server when you need it, and stop it when you dont if you prefer.
To build tightvnc, open vpackager (Should be under system)
Click on the "Cruxports4slack" button
Click on the "Display Available" button
type "vnc" on the search bar
Select tightvnc and click "Build Selected"

Azmandius

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • The beat never fades!
    • ::: az0000000 Website :::
Re: Remote Desktop in Vector Linux
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2008, 05:21:35 am »

So is rDesktop good for rather Linux to Windows remote connections?

Is VNC resource hogger and does it start a needed and stop when not used?

I'd really appreciate some more info on that: "You should be able to simply build tightvnc using the cruxports4slack feature in vpackager."

Thanks much.

rDesktop is a front end to tools like VNC and other protocols IIRC.
As with any remote session appliation, you can run the server when you need it, and stop it when you dont if you prefer.
To build tightvnc, open vpackager (Should be under system)
Click on the "Cruxports4slack" button
Click on the "Display Available" button
type "vnc" on the search bar
Select tightvnc and click "Build Selected"

Thank you.
Will be working on that.
Logged
The beat never fades!