VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google [SOLVED]  (Read 5959 times)

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Web Browser doesn't connect to Google [SOLVED]
« on: April 05, 2008, 09:41:50 pm »

Hello all,
I'm back working on a machine with a very old Mobo (Intel Pentium MMX). The only Linux System I could install successfully was VectorLinux!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm connected to the Internet (as one can see writing this post) but I can't connect to Google.
I start at the tool bar clicking the icon 'Web Browser' -->'Bookmarks' -->'Search the Web' -->Google'. After that I get the message:
Quote
Address Not Found

 www.google.com could not be found. Please check the name and try again.

The browser could not find the host server for the provided address.

    * Did you make a mistake when typing the domain? (e.g. ww.mozilla.org instead of www.mozilla.org)
    * Are you certain this domain address exists?  Its registration may have expired.
    * Are you unable to browse other sites?  Check your network connection and DNS server settings.
    * Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy?  Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
Try again

What do I miss? Has somebody an idea what is happening here?
Thanks for any reply in advance ???
« Last Edit: April 10, 2008, 05:47:35 pm by Cariboo »
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2008, 03:33:51 am »

do you have another windows machines with you?
do it have the same problem?
I am not sure about network command in linux but can you do a ping and tracert for the google.com site from your VL?

open up a console as root and run below command......does it return any reply?

Quote
ping google.com
tracert google.com
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2301
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2008, 10:01:55 am »

May be appending the opendns addresses to your /etc/resolv.conf, that could fixit if the cause of the problem is dns related.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2008, 11:50:01 am »

I hit a problem (at one site) where I could access some internet sites, but not others. After a lot of hunting, I found some mention of problems with later Linux kernels and tcp window scaling.

I found that by adding the following command to /etc/sysctl.conf, I got round the problem:

Code: [Select]
net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling=0
You might need to create /etc/sysctl.conf - I don't recall if Vector has one by default.

One of the references I found to the original problem:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-source-2.6.17/+bug/59331

Strangely enough, the site which was giving me problems has changed. Instead of an OpenBSD based firewall/router, its now using Linux-based SME Server, and the problem has gone away.

May be worth trying, since it only takes a few seconds to do...

paul.
Logged

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2008, 01:47:14 pm »

Hi hata_ph and thanks for the reply. you wrote:
do you have another windows machines with you?
do it have the same problem?
I have another Windows and another Linux machine>
No problems at other machines.
I am not sure about network command in linux but can you do a ping and tracert for the google.com site from your VL?
tracert didn't work --tracert command not found

---ping gives the following reply (endless):
64 bytes from py-in-f99.google.com (64.233.167.99): icmp_seq=20 ttl=247 time=187 ms
64 bytes from py-in-f99.google.com (64.233.167.99): icmp_seq=21 ttl=247 time=187 ms
64 bytes from py-in-f99.google.com (64.233.167.99): icmp_seq=22 ttl=247 time=189 ms

I have no idea what that means....

Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2008, 01:58:54 pm »

I hit a problem (at one site) where I could access some internet sites, but not others. After a lot of hunting, I found some mention of problems with later Linux kernels and tcp window scaling.

I found that by adding the following command to /etc/sysctl.conf, I got round the problem:

Code: [Select]
net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling=0
You might need to create /etc/sysctl.conf - I don't recall if Vector has one by default.

One of the references I found to the original problem:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-source-2.6.17/+bug/59331

Strangely enough, the site which was giving me problems has changed. Instead of an OpenBSD based firewall/router, its now using Linux-based SME Server, and the problem has gone away.

May be worth trying, since it only takes a few seconds to do...

paul.

Thanks Paul,
No, I don't have /etc/sysctl.conf.....for creating it, do I just have to use any text editor, name the file sysctl.conf, enter
Code: [Select]
net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling=0
and put it in /etc?
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2008, 06:19:15 pm »

Thanks Paul,
No, I don't have /etc/sysctl.conf.....for creating it, do I just have to use any text editor, name the file sysctl.conf, enter
Code: [Select]
net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling=0
and put it in /etc?


Yes, that should do it. I had forgotten though - that would require a reboot to take effect. You could try (as root):

Code: [Select]
echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_window_scaling
If that fixes the problem for you, create /etc/sysctl.conf as already mentioned.

paul.
Logged

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2008, 08:16:22 am »




Yes, that should do it. I had forgotten though - that would require a reboot to take effect. You could try (as root):

Code: [Select]
echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_window_scaling
If that fixes the problem for you, create /etc/sysctl.conf as already mentioned.

paul.

Thank you,Paul,
I tried, but still no "Google"!
When I typed
Code: [Select]
echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_window_scalingin a terminal as root, nothing happened, I mean, I didn't see any reaction or reply.
I'm not experienced enough to figure this out.
Do you have another idea? ::)
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2008, 06:58:25 am »

Sorry that didn't help. The only other thing I can think of is a DNS problem. It might be worth your while to try something like the OpenDNS - DNS ips are as follows:

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

 ::) I've had to use those for a number of Windows Vista machines - for some reason, Vista often fails to resolve DNS entries when connecting to wireless networks. Hard coding the DNS ips usually fixes it - don't know if it will help in the case of Linux.

paul.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2008, 07:04:32 am »

usually the internet provider (ISP) will give a specific DNS.......try consult your ISP....
Logged

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2008, 07:07:05 am »

usually the internet provider (ISP) will give a specific DNS.......try consult your ISP....

The OpenDNS often works when an ISPs DNS server doesn't, which is why I suggested it.

paul.
Logged

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2008, 12:11:25 pm »

Thanks, toothandnail and hata_ph,
I'm sorry bothering you with this issue..
GrannyGeek recommended to type the address, for example http://www.google.com, directly in the address field....and it works...
But, now I can also connect via the Bookmarks path...--->Search the Web --->Google.
what I couldn't before...
I wonder what happened ???
I didn't change anything ???
« Last Edit: April 09, 2008, 02:00:38 pm by Cariboo »
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2008, 05:52:26 pm »

Thanks, toothandnail and hata_ph,
I'm sorry bothering you with this issue..
GrannyGeek recommended to type the address, for example http://www.google.com, directly in the address field....and it works...
But, now I can also connect via the Bookmarks path...--->Search the Web --->Google.
what I couldn't before...
I wonder what happened ???
I didn't change anything ???
lol....mystery of life....
Logged

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2008, 06:26:42 pm »


lol....mystery of life....

Yeah,.....
 for me the whole computer world is kind of a mystery...
and I envy you guys who understand/invent all this ....
 ::)

Anyway, I like VL very much and the people behind it and their effort to keep it simple...
as A. Einstein once said:
"Everything should be as simple as possible, but not simpler"
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Web Browser doesn't connect to Google
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2008, 11:05:19 pm »


lol....mystery of life....

Yeah,.....
 for me the whole computer world is kind of a mystery...
and I envy you guys who understand/invent all this ....
 ::)

Anyway, I like VL very much and the people behind it and their effort to keep it simple...
as A. Einstein once said:
"Everything should be as simple as possible, but not simpler"


I am just newbie same as you.......just that maybe I have encounter some problem similar that you haven't yet.......life itself is a learning experiences..... :)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2