VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: What is path to the ALT + F2 run command  (Read 2115 times)

dh2k

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
What is path to the ALT + F2 run command
« on: April 17, 2008, 04:37:27 am »

I want to add the run command (ALT + F2) to my menu - I'm using KBFX which doesn't seem to have an option for the Run Command so I want to add this manually to the applications menu.

I'm struggling to find out what the actual gui program is for this.   Google search does not help.

I have tried an "ls | grep ..." search in cd /usr/bin for things like launch/run/command" but yields nothing that will launch the ALT + F2 run dialogue gui.

Any suggestions?

TiA
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2305
Re: What is path to the ALT + F2 run command
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2008, 05:03:53 am »

Hi dh2k,

The path is /usr/bin/xfrun4

Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

dh2k

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: What is path to the ALT + F2 run command
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2008, 05:08:56 am »

not at my PC at the moment but could you tell me is this the KDE run dialogue box or XFCE?
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2305
Re: What is path to the ALT + F2 run command
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2008, 05:16:27 am »

yep, it is inXfce, posting the vl version you are using could help in this ;D. I assume you are in VL-Light now, since you have no Xfce. You can use the fluxbox applet, /usr/bin/fbrun

HTH
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

dh2k

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: What is path to the ALT + F2 run command
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2008, 05:23:38 am »

I'm looking for the KDE run dialgoue box preferably.  I'm using VL 5.9 STD with KDE desktop downloaded; XFCE is installed as per default installation but  I rarely use this.

My main desktop environment is KDE 3.5.8

« Last Edit: April 17, 2008, 05:25:31 am by dh2k »
Logged

boneygamba

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: What is path to the ALT + F2 run command
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2008, 08:44:41 am »

I'm looking for the KDE run dialgoue box preferably.

hi there dh2k

i don't know that this is the definitive answer to your question... try typing the following in a command shell:

dcop kdesktop KDesktopIface popupExecuteCommand

this pops up the run command dialog on my computer; it runs vl5.9 std + kde 3.5.8.
you can probably add that as a custom command to the KBFX menu somewhere?

regards
paul

edited: overcame laziness and googled KBFX.
The DCOP call should still work?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2008, 08:55:59 am by boneygamba »
Logged

dh2k

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: What is path to the ALT + F2 run command
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2008, 01:28:45 am »

This works great from konsole, however I have added:
Code: [Select]
dcop kdesktop KDesktopIface popupExecuteCommand
to my kbfx menu and it does work ;D
but on my task bar I get two 'Run Command' instances - only one gui dialogue box, though.

The second instance has the turning egg timer in the task bar for 30 secs then disappears.

Even if I start the run command then immediatley close it (via clicking cancel) the second instance in the task bar still shows as 'Loading application' for 30 seconds.

I am very happy with your solution and it works great ;)

Curiously, what would cause the second instance to show in the task bar?
Double checked and the command in kbfx menu is just:
Code: [Select]
dcop kdesktop KDesktopIface popupExecuteCommandbut only does the above when launched from my menu not konsole, hmmm?
Logged

boneygamba

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: What is path to the ALT + F2 run command
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2008, 02:08:39 am »

well i installed that kmenu replacement that you mentioned(KBFX) and i got the same result as you did dh2k.
 ie. two instances? of the run command appearing in the pager.
by the way, this happens if you add it to the normal KMenu, as comes with KDE.  i do not know why....probably the answer lies in the bowels of KDE somewhere. Perhaps someone else here knows.  ;D

(If you have not already) you could add it as a custom command to the main panel.  The hourglass thingy does not appear when implemented that way on my computer.

regards


Logged