VectorLinux
July 28, 2014, 04:01:33 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Extended Partition?  (Read 1333 times)
nerdcomic

« on: April 17, 2008, 12:24:49 pm »

When I installed VL, I decided on a dual boot with XP. I am new to VL and wanted to have a backup OS in case I messed up the install.

The install doc said that I needed to create an 'Extended Primary' Partition to house my logical partitions, but it failed to mention how much to allot. To be safe I alloted a gig. Is this too much? Too Little? How much should I allot for this Extended Partition next time I install?
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2008, 12:49:42 pm »

A Gig is way too little. I'd say 3-5, plus another 256-512 MB partition for swap space.
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2008, 04:28:39 pm »

The logical partitions within an extended partition can only together be as large as the extended partition itself. Therefore you do not have enough space to do much at all. VL requires about 3-4 GB minimum for /  (I recommend about 5-6GB so you can add extra programs), suggested 512MB for swap and then you need a good size /home partition to hold all your data (if you collect music, graphics and video then this will have to be 10's of GB's large).

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
nerdcomic

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2008, 12:14:48 pm »

... I've eaten my Wheaties, but I'm still confused. My partitions look like this:
(Total Space approx 80 gigs)