VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Making Results of Netconfig Permanent  (Read 1369 times)

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Making Results of Netconfig Permanent
« on: April 26, 2008, 06:47:27 am »

I am running VL 5.8 Standard and am setting up my Toshiba laptop to access the internet via a wired broadband connection via a 3Com card and adapter.  So far this has gone surprisingly well; I just used VASM's networking setup section to run Netconfig (suggested basic options) and the internet connection is working well - faster than my other (Windoze) machine with a wireless adapter!

The problem is, when I switch off the computer and switch it on again later, I have lost the connectivity I had established in the previous session.  How can I make this a permanent feature and not have to set it up afresh each session?
« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 07:31:24 am by Martin109 »
Logged
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4085
Re: Making Results of Netconfig Permanent
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2008, 08:16:36 am »

Do a few tests. When the computer first boots up, open a terminal and become root.

Run command: ifconfig
If you see eth0, run command: dhcpcd eth0
If you do not see eth0, run command: ifconfig eth0 up
then run: dhcpcd eth0

When you figure out what it takes to activate the network card, you can add those commands to the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local
Logged

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Making Results of Netconfig Permanent
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2008, 08:50:19 am »

Thanks, nightflier!

Running ifconfig after Linux has booted, but before running Netconfig gives:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:60:08:DE:AC:B5 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:1180 (1.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:5 Base address:0x300

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)


Running it again after running Netconfig gives:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:60:08:DE:AC:B5 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:2360 (2.3 KiB)
          Interrupt:3 Base address:0x300

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)


When I run dhcpcd eth0, nothing appears to happen.  The cursor hangs for about 3 minutes, then return to the command prompt.  No output is given on screen.

Logged
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4085
Re: Making Results of Netconfig Permanent
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2008, 09:10:20 am »

That's weird, no IP address after netconfig, but you can now connect to the Internet?

Normally, when dhcpcd hangs that long, it means it's not getting a reply from the dhcp server.
Logged

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Making Results of Netconfig Permanent
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2008, 11:17:35 am »

Right, I think those were spurious results, as I ran Netconfig without making sure the little green light on my 3Com net card adapter was on!

Running 'ifconfig' again, I get the results:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:60:08:DE:AC:B5 
          inet addr:192.168.0.3  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1592 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1390 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1905460 (1.8 MiB)  TX bytes:173421 (169.3 KiB)
          Interrupt:3 Base address:0x300

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1500 (1.4 KiB)  TX bytes:1500 (1.4 KiB)

and typing 'dhcpcd eth0' I get:

           dhcpcd: already running
           dhcpcd: if not then delete

           /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-eth0.pid file

I'm afraid I'm still none the wiser about what to add to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

 
Logged
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Martin109

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: Making Results of Netconfig Permanent
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2008, 11:50:55 am »

I've found this thread, which I hope will solve the problem once I've understood it!
Logged
Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard