VectorLinux
August 27, 2014, 02:50:28 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Skype for Linux  (Read 1546 times)
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« on: April 27, 2008, 04:38:02 am »

I'd like to use Skype with VL 5.8.  Is that possible?  This Skype page doesn't show VL.  Which version should I go for, and what steps do I need to take to get it running?  I've never acquired an additional program before, so don't know what to do. Undecided
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
fuelinux
Member
*
Posts: 52



« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2008, 11:36:49 am »

Just download Static and install (instructions are in archive). Works like a charm, not that fancy view though ( I mean compared to Win version), but main functions work well.
Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 Standard
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1073


« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2008, 12:05:16 pm »

Skype for Linux starting with v1.4, I believe, require qt4. All stable versions of VL use qt3. Thus you will need to install qt4 (in the 5.9 repos but not sure about the 5.8 repos) to use the latest Skype.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2008, 01:14:58 pm »

Thanks for that.  I'll try this out when I next get to my Linux machine at the weekend.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
fuelinux
Member
*
Posts: 52



« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2008, 12:15:16 pm »

Martin, look at this thread. It might be handy.
Logged

Vector Linux 5.8 Standard
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2008, 05:20:27 pm »

In my VL-5.8 box skype_staticQT-1.3.0.53 works well, calls, chats all.

Skype-1.4.0.118 is good for calls only , in and out, however, if someone will send a chat or I will send a chat CPU will be used-up 100 % immediately and by that the keyboard will be disabled necessitating a dirty reboot.

In VL-5.9 Skype-1.4.0.118 works properly.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2008, 05:29:43 pm by Pita » Logged
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2008, 04:28:55 am »

Thanks for the tips. Smiley
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2008, 01:49:14 pm »

Martin, look at this thread. It might be handy.

I'm afraid most of that thread is way over my head!
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!