VectorLinux
December 19, 2014, 07:18:36 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Strange kde problems with Toshiba (kdm, kde, amarok) [SOLVED]  (Read 4992 times)
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« on: January 26, 2008, 03:21:27 pm »

Apologise if it has been raised before... A search for kde or kdm didn't seem to show anything related.

I installed 5.9 standard and 5.9 deluxe in a toshiba sattelite 2450-101 laptop (about 5 or 6 years old), with 256Mb Ram and a Pentium 4, 2.66GHz.

With both versions, kdm completely locks (after the nvidia driver logo shows up). The cursor doesn't blink, the buttons cannot be pressed, but the mouse moves!
Ctrl + Alt + F1 does not work, the keyboard seems completely unresponsive. Booting into textmode and doing startx goes into the desktop normally and it is working fine, so it seems to be a kdm problem.
Reinstalling kdm-small (the version in the 5.9 repo has 5.8 as a version... that's strange) makes it work, but with the 5.8 "looks".

Starting k3b makes the computer hang again, while the command line information tells me that it is drawing the main window. The main window does show up, together with the splash screen. The same thing happens: mouse moves, but no buttons can be pressed (even on the panel) and keyboard does not do anything (including Ctrl + Alt + Backspace).

Amarok gives an error about missing  libkhtml (if I'm not mistaken).

Reinstalling k3b, amarok, and kdelibs, seems to solve the amarok problem, but not the k3b one (still crashes).

The same cd's have been used afterwards to install VL on two desktop computers and do not show any of these problems, and I checked the installation files during install.

Any ideas?
Thank you very much!
« Last Edit: September 30, 2008, 06:40:39 am by wcs » Logged
kukibl
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2008, 01:26:56 am »

Have you tried "nv" driver instead "nvidia"? I've read on some forums that people have strange problems when they use nvidia driver on older cards. Undecided
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1553


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2008, 05:10:07 am »

You may want to look for a newer version of kdelibs and kdebase. There were some trouble with one of those (don't recall exactly).
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2008, 02:57:09 am »

Quote
Have you tried "nv" driver instead "nvidia"? I've read on some forums that people have strange problems when they use nvidia driver on older cards.

That was indeed my first thought... But since the display is actually fine once kdm is bypassed, I started suspecting other causes.
Also, it seems to me that because the problems only seem to affect kde applications, there is something wrong with kdelibs or kdebase (which for some strange reason only happen in my laptop, but not on the desktop computers).

The Headacher: I couldn't find newer versions in the repo.... maybe I need to install kdebase. I don't think it is installed at the moment.

Thanks for the help, and I'll try both suggestions.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2008, 10:23:04 am »

You may want to try the newly released 5.9 SOHO.  I'm using it on an older Toshiba (admittedly different model and video chipset than yours) and KDE is working perfectly.  There have been other reported issues with KDE on Standard that seem to be fixed on SOHO.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 06:15:32 am »

I would... but I'm very broke at the moment.  Smiley
In any case, I find it weird that this applies to 5.9 final, but no problems with 5.9 Standard RC3.  Weird...
I might just install RC3 and upgrade from there. Or SOHO, if I have a bit more cash.
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2008, 11:44:45 pm »

I finally solved it.

It was indeed the nvidia driver. The 9x series got me a black screen, and I assumed the 7x series was the right one for my laptop.
Well, it wasn't, and it was causing the crashes.

I got the 9x series working by putting this in the Device section of xorg.conf:
Code:
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP-0"
(using a Nvidia Geforce 4200 go)
No more black screen, and no crashes.

Everything's fine now...
Thanks for the answers!
« Last Edit: November 16, 2008, 04:49:10 am by wcs » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!