VectorLinux
November 28, 2014, 01:25:16 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Trouble with installing SOHO from CD-ROM  (Read 1456 times)
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« on: January 16, 2008, 12:05:31 pm »

Hi! I've recently acquired a copy of 5.8 SOHO, which I'm trying to install, but the computer ignores the CD when booting up and goes straight to LILO.

When I go into my normal Vector installation and attempt to mount the CD by issuing the command "mount -t iso9660 /dev/cdrom  /cdrom", I get the dreaded "no medium found" message.

I'm able to operate the CD drive by opening and closing the tray with the Vector CD in, and the drive light comes on, but the drive laser doesn't seem to be reading it as far as I can tell (there's an extra sound that I should hear at the end but which I'm not).

Is there any last ditch procedure I can follow before I bow to what seems to be the inevitable and buy a new CD drive?

If so;

What is the best make of CD-ROM to buy, to have the best chance of getting it to work with SOHO?

Many thanks in advance,

Colonel Panic.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2008, 12:10:13 pm by Colonel Panic » Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2008, 12:28:43 pm »

Hi! I've recently acquired a copy of 5.8 SOHO, which I'm trying to install, but the computer ignores the CD when booting up and goes straight to LILO.
Have you tried entering the BIOS and setting the boot device order so that cdrom is listed first?
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2008, 12:44:35 pm »

When I go into my normal Vector installation and attempt to mount the CD by issuing the command "mount -t iso9660 /dev/cdrom  /cdrom", I get the dreaded "no medium found" message.
It may not be relevant, but does that mountpoint/directory already exist?  However unlikely, mount may not be finding the mountpoint (though the error does seem to indicate it's not finding the media).
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4031



« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2008, 02:11:08 pm »

Definitely enter BIOS and see if the CDROM drive is detected. Make sure the data cable is properly seated on both ends.

I use my optical drive a lot and they only seem to last me a year or two. But they're cheap. I usually buy whatever they have on sale or closeout specials.  Tongue
Logged
Freston
Vectorite
***
Posts: 165


« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2008, 05:03:51 am »

if that BIOS thing isn't the issue (check first)... Is it a good burn? I don't get too many bad burns, but they happen enough that I made it a habit to always check the md5checksum.


What you can also check
Code:
mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom
This should work for mounting... not that I don't trust you with mounting your own devices but if even this command doesn't work there is something wrong either on the burn or on the hardware side (I suspect the burn).
Logged
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2008, 07:13:13 am »


A quick update here; my CD-ROM did turn out to be kaput, so I bought a "new" (i.e. secondhand) one. Now I need a toolkit to get inside my base unit to fit it...

Thanks to everyone who helped anyway.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!