VectorLinux
July 25, 2014, 05:18:34 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing VL on old laptop with usb CD drive  (Read 1216 times)
duhfactor

« on: May 07, 2008, 05:33:56 am »

Hi Folks,
I am very new to linux, and have an old KDS laptop with 128 megs of ram, a 20 gig hard drive, and pentium 3 600 mhz chip who is interested in loading VL as my only OS on that machine. I currently have windows on it, but is almost unusable because of my limited RAM, which can only be upgraded to 256 mgs. I tried to install VL from the CD drive which has to connect via USB port, because the laptop is a "thinnote" that had no room for a CD drive from the factory. When I start the install, things go as expected, then at some point the computer cannot seem to recognize the USB port, and when VL tries to continue the install, it cannot because it can't seem to find the software which is on the CD. It's as if the VL OS doesn't have a USB driver that loads early enough to keep the system connected to the USB port, which can then continue the install process. I heard you can put the ISO OS file on the hard drive, and boot and instal from there, but I can't understand how to do it. I really want VL on that laptop, can anybody help me? I tried to search on how to fix this myself, but I'm not seeming to be able to figure it out.

Thanks for any help!!

Duhfactor
meinhardt_jgbr

« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2008, 07:30:00 am »