VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: unable to get ip address  (Read 4124 times)

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
unable to get ip address
« on: May 10, 2008, 01:13:57 am »

Hey guys,
I have recently been given an old laptop (800mhz, 3** mb ram) and a dlink 650+ wireless card. I installed vector and am amazed at how well it runs on such old hardware. My problem is with wireless, suprise I know. When I run wifiradar I can  see my access point as well as 8 others, so I assume that my card is being recognized and is talking to vector. But when I try to connect to an access point it tells me that it is unable to get ip address.
I tried going through the howto here - http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=1282.0
But that didn't change the error message. I tried googling the error message but nothing came back. I tried a searching in these forums but could not find anything on this error message. If anyone could point me in the right direction I would much appreciate it.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2008, 02:12:54 am »

do your access point have any security setting?
Logged

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2008, 04:04:04 am »

I have wpa on my access point, however I tried to connect to a neighbors access point that doesn't have security enabled to test to see if it would work with no security enabled, but it gave me the same error.
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2008, 07:45:10 am »

I have a bcm43xx wifi that has the same problem with the native driver.
I have to use ndiswrapper to be able to connect with it.

What kind of chipset does your dlink card have?
Logged

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2008, 05:13:39 pm »

My internet was totally down today, so I didn't get to check this until I got to work. Ill check the chipset when I get home tommorow. What is the easiest way to check what chipset I have? If I remember right that card has a couple of different models.
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2008, 06:17:08 pm »

Provide the actual model name of the dlink card could help. I have a search and only found this. It this the one?

http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=0&pid=386
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2008, 06:26:18 pm »

My internet was totally down today, so I didn't get to check this until I got to work. Ill check the chipset when I get home tommorow. What is the easiest way to check what chipset I have? If I remember right that card has a couple of different models.
lsmod will give you a list of loaded modules
lspci should give the rest of the info needed.
Logged

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2008, 08:06:33 pm »

I'm still at work, but I am pretty sure this is the card-
http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-AirPlus-DWL-650-Wireless-Mbps/dp/B000068UY7

I wish I would have written the lspci information when I ran through the tutorial. I'll get that info again. I think I remember reading Texas Instruments when I ran lspci now that I think about it. Which I think may be the problem, cause then I go to http://linux-wless.passys.nl/query_part.php?brandname=D-Link it says that the TI chipset is unknown. crap. I'll double check tommorow. Would I need Ndiswrapper if it is the TI chipset?
« Last Edit: May 10, 2008, 08:10:29 pm by eeezzzeee21 »
Logged

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2008, 05:37:27 am »

lspci-
network controller: texas instruments ACX 100 22mbps wireless interface
lsmod-
3c59x, and ndiswrapper (not sure what else to look for in lsmod)

I did a quick google search for acx100 and found-
http://acx100.sourceforge.net/wiki/ACX

So I'll try to work with that unless you guys have any other suggestions.
Thanks for your guys help.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2008, 05:39:44 am by eeezzzeee21 »
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2008, 10:03:36 am »

I try google around and I found so info about your wireless card.......it seem there is a native driver for it but I am not sure whether it is working or not. I double check the ndiswrapper website and it seem your card is support by it, I recommend you use try it out with ndiswrapper first.

http://acx100.sourceforge.net/
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joomla/index.php?/component/option,com_openwiki/Itemid,33/id,list_c-f/
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joomla/index.php?/component/option,com_openwiki/Itemid,33/

Quote
#
Card: D-Link Airplus DWL 650+

    *
      Chipset: ACX100
    *
      pciid: 104c:8400
    *
      Driver: Windows drivers from http://www.dlink.com/ . “Native” acx100 Linux driver available at http://lisas.de/~andi/acx100/ ; requires Firmware from Windows drivers. Please read README for details.
    *
      Other: Tested on Slackware 10 with Ndiswrapper 0.8. acx100 supports WEP (only tested 128bit).
    *
      Other: Works Perfectly with Ndiswrapper 1.1 in Ad-Hoc mode ( 2005.05.12 ). Howto: Craig’s ACX100/111 Guide for Linux <http://www.houseofcraig.net/acx100_howto.php>

Logged

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2008, 08:33:41 pm »

Thanks for the info,
Ill try it out and let you guys know how it turns out.
Logged