Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: unable to get ip address  (Read 4006 times)

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
unable to get ip address
« on: May 10, 2008, 12:13:57 am »
Hey guys,
I have recently been given an old laptop (800mhz, 3** mb ram) and a dlink 650+ wireless card. I installed vector and am amazed at how well it runs on such old hardware. My problem is with wireless, suprise I know. When I run wifiradar I can  see my access point as well as 8 others, so I assume that my card is being recognized and is talking to vector. But when I try to connect to an access point it tells me that it is unable to get ip address.
I tried going through the howto here - http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=1282.0
But that didn't change the error message. I tried googling the error message but nothing came back. I tried a searching in these forums but could not find anything on this error message. If anyone could point me in the right direction I would much appreciate it.

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2008, 01:12:54 am »
do your access point have any security setting?

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2008, 03:04:04 am »
I have wpa on my access point, however I tried to connect to a neighbors access point that doesn't have security enabled to test to see if it would work with no security enabled, but it gave me the same error.

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2008, 06:45:10 am »
I have a bcm43xx wifi that has the same problem with the native driver.
I have to use ndiswrapper to be able to connect with it.

What kind of chipset does your dlink card have?

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2008, 04:13:39 pm »
My internet was totally down today, so I didn't get to check this until I got to work. Ill check the chipset when I get home tommorow. What is the easiest way to check what chipset I have? If I remember right that card has a couple of different models.

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2008, 05:17:08 pm »
Provide the actual model name of the dlink card could help. I have a search and only found this. It this the one?

http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=0&pid=386

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2008, 05:26:18 pm »
My internet was totally down today, so I didn't get to check this until I got to work. Ill check the chipset when I get home tommorow. What is the easiest way to check what chipset I have? If I remember right that card has a couple of different models.
lsmod will give you a list of loaded modules
lspci should give the rest of the info needed.

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2008, 07:06:33 pm »
I'm still at work, but I am pretty sure this is the card-
http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-AirPlus-DWL-650-Wireless-Mbps/dp/B000068UY7

I wish I would have written the lspci information when I ran through the tutorial. I'll get that info again. I think I remember reading Texas Instruments when I ran lspci now that I think about it. Which I think may be the problem, cause then I go to http://linux-wless.passys.nl/query_part.php?brandname=D-Link it says that the TI chipset is unknown. crap. I'll double check tommorow. Would I need Ndiswrapper if it is the TI chipset?
« Last Edit: May 10, 2008, 07:10:29 pm by eeezzzeee21 »

eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2008, 04:37:27 am »
lspci-
network controller: texas instruments ACX 100 22mbps wireless interface
lsmod-
3c59x, and ndiswrapper (not sure what else to look for in lsmod)

I did a quick google search for acx100 and found-
http://acx100.sourceforge.net/wiki/ACX

So I'll try to work with that unless you guys have any other suggestions.
Thanks for your guys help.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2008, 04:39:44 am by eeezzzeee21 »

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2008, 09:03:36 am »
I try google around and I found so info about your wireless card.......it seem there is a native driver for it but I am not sure whether it is working or not. I double check the ndiswrapper website and it seem your card is support by it, I recommend you use try it out with ndiswrapper first.

http://acx100.sourceforge.net/
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joomla/index.php?/component/option,com_openwiki/Itemid,33/id,list_c-f/
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joomla/index.php?/component/option,com_openwiki/Itemid,33/

Quote
#
Card: D-Link Airplus DWL 650+

    *
      Chipset: ACX100
    *
      pciid: 104c:8400
    *
      Driver: Windows drivers from http://www.dlink.com/ . “Native” acx100 Linux driver available at http://lisas.de/~andi/acx100/ ; requires Firmware from Windows drivers. Please read README for details.
    *
      Other: Tested on Slackware 10 with Ndiswrapper 0.8. acx100 supports WEP (only tested 128bit).
    *
      Other: Works Perfectly with Ndiswrapper 1.1 in Ad-Hoc mode ( 2005.05.12 ). Howto: Craig’s ACX100/111 Guide for Linux <http://www.houseofcraig.net/acx100_howto.php>


eeezzzeee21

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: unable to get ip address
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2008, 07:33:41 pm »
Thanks for the info,
Ill try it out and let you guys know how it turns out.