VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!  (Read 3238 times)

tmoney_wizfan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
« on: May 22, 2008, 12:24:49 pm »

Hi everyone,

I am a very fresh noob to vector, as well as linux in general.  I am trying to get my compaq presario 5000 with vector linux 5.8 to detect my wireless card (linksys wmp54g ver 4.1; RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI;).  I pretty much have no clue as to what I am doing, even after reading line after line of instructional material and how-to's.  Can anyone hold my hand and walk me through this mess??? I really need help in the worst way.  Here is my lspci if that is helpful: 

lspci: 

00:00.0 Host bridge Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (GMCH) Graphics Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel corporation 82801AA PCI Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801AA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801AA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801AA USB Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801AA SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:05.0 Multimedia Audio Controller: ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 (rev 12)
01:09.0 Modem: PCTel Inc HSP MicroModem 56 (rev 02)
01.0b.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI


just a quick question while I'm at it, but since all of these things show as being connected to my computer, why won't they show up/work?  I guess I need the drivers, right?  I don't know, I am soooo lost.  Please, someone, anyone, help me!!!!

« Last Edit: May 23, 2008, 03:35:58 pm by tmoney_wizfan »
Logged

Dweeberkitty

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 836
    • Multimedia Bonus Disc

Welcome to Vector Linux my friend! I am not a wireless expert but wireless in general on Linux may require you to use the Windows drivers that came with your card using a driver "wrapper".

Try something like this:
Code: [Select]
ndiswrapper -i /mnt/cdrom/Drivers/wmpci54g.inf
Just replace the path to the driver with the actual path to your .inf file for your wireless driver (usually on the cd that came with the card)

Then do this:
Code: [Select]
ndiswrapper -l
That will list the available drivers and tell you if yours is installed correctly and if the card is actually detected.

Theoretically all that would be left is this:
Code: [Select]
ndiswapper -m
There may be more to do, but hopefully someone with more wireless experience can help you.
Logged
Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/

tmoney_wizfan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12

thank you SOOOOOOO much!!!!! I'm finally online.  I didn't find that kinda help anywhere, but maybe I wasn't looking in the right places.  Anywhoo, now I just need to get my sound card working.  I'll try on my own before asking for help.  Question though, will ndiswrapper work for other drivers such as a windows sound card driver?
Logged

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16

Welcome to Vector  :)
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

Dweeberkitty

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 836
    • Multimedia Bonus Disc

thank you SOOOOOOO much!!!!! I'm finally online.  I didn't find that kinda help anywhere, but maybe I wasn't looking in the right places.  Anywhoo, now I just need to get my sound card working.  I'll try on my own before asking for help.  Question though, will ndiswrapper work for other drivers such as a windows sound card driver?

Probably not. For the sound card, try using Vasm.
Logged
Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --

it seem like your sound card is using the meastro3 module

Quote
The Asus L8400 laptops come with an ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 audio controller. It is also called an Maestro-3

The maestro3 OSS driver is included in Linux 2.2 and Linux 2.4.

It works to the extent I have used it. I can play sounds from various programs, play audio CDs, listen to the radio, …

There is a page dedicated to the Maestro3/Allegro linux sound driver.

The volume control on CD-ROM drive on the right side of the laptop works as a master volume dial. It is not just for playing audio CDs. I use it a lot, as it allows you to control the volume of any sound playing program, such as realplayer and xmms.

http://linux.seindal.dk/2002/12/27/linux-on-asus-l8400-laptops/?num=2

can you provide your lsmod output?
Logged

tmoney_wizfan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12

sure here it is below:


fam:$ lsmod

Module                  Size  Used by
freq_table              4768  0
snd_opl3sa2            17644  0
snd_opl3_lib            9600  1 snd_opl3sa2
snd_hwdep               7812  1 snd_opl3_lib
snd_cs4231_lib         22016  1 snd_opl3sa2
snd_mpu401_uart         7808  1 snd_opl3sa2
snd_rawmidi            20128  1 snd_mpu401_uart
lp                     10888  0
parport_pc             37092  1
parport                32072  2 lp,parport_pc
ndiswrapper           186372  0
i915                   23296  0
drm                    74388  1 i915
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            32128  0
snd_seq_midi_event      7168  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48720  5
snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7692  5
snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            38048  0
snd_mixer_oss          15232  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_maestro3           21540  2
snd_ac97_codec         98084  1 snd_maestro3
ac97_bus                2944  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                69764  4
snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm_oss,snd_maestro3,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              19972  4
snd_opl3_lib,snd_cs4231_lib,snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          8712  2 snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm
snd                    45796  20
snd_opl3sa2,snd_opl3_lib,snd_hwdep,snd_cs4231_lib,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_maestro3,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               7008  1 snd
iTCO_wdt                9640  0
shpchp                 30228  0
serio_raw               6276  0
pci_hotplug            28616  1 shpchp
intel_agp              22164  1
agpgart                28108  3 drm,intel_agp
i2c_i801                8592  0
i2c_i810                5380  0
i2c_algo_bit            6532  1 i2c_i810
i2c_core               20992  3
i2c_i801,i2c_i810,i2c_algo_bit
evdev                   8704  0
vector:/~

i tried to configure the sound with vasm, but i still have no sound at all. 
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! sound card is the problem.
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2008, 09:39:22 pm »

does VASM detect your sound card?
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! sound card is the problem.
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2008, 04:09:36 am »

Open a terminal and issue the command alsamixer.

Then use the m key to unmute the channels. You can use the
arrow keys to increase or decrease the volumne.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged

tmoney_wizfan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! sound card is the problem.
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2008, 02:03:46 pm »

when i run vasm, it detects 3 sound cards:

maestro3          ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 (rev 12)
mpu401             snd-mpu401
legacy               Probe legacy ISA (non-PnP) chips


when I configure the first one (maestro3) I get the message "Ok, sound driver is configured....."  it is supposedly configured, but am I supposed to hear something right then?  I don't get any sound after this either.  I did try the alsamixer command in the terminal, but no luck. 
Logged

tmoney_wizfan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! sound card is the problem.
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2008, 03:35:14 pm »

wooo! got it working.  thanks for the help though!
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2008, 04:50:57 pm »

what you did?
Logged

tmoney_wizfan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2008, 10:23:18 pm »

aww man, I was hoping no one would ask but, since you did, promise you won't laugh.  I did the autodetect and configure in VASM like three times, then I was like "duh, um, maybe its the connection".  So uh, yeah, pretty stupid, but I had one of the speaker wires in the back switched.  I did have to do that first step of going through vasm, but from there, it was just a dumb mistake lol. 
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2008, 10:44:04 pm »

:)
Logged

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2008, 03:02:56 am »

aww man, I was hoping no one would ask but, since you did, promise you won't laugh.  I did the autodetect and configure in VASM like three times, then I was like "duh, um, maybe its the connection".  So uh, yeah, pretty stupid, but I had one of the speaker wires in the back switched.  I did have to do that first step of going through vasm, but from there, it was just a dumb mistake lol. 

We all do it.. I searched for hours one day for the reason my DSL modem would not work only to find out it was disconnected from the Phone line.  Duh  :)
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
Pages: [1] 2